Awards and Prizes

The Journalism Program awards two prizes each year for distinguished writing. Students are encouraged to fill out the attached applications and submit their work to the Program Director by April 1. The winners, selected by the faculty, receive cash awards and recognition at the spring graduation ceremony

Schafer Award

The Schafer Award recognizes the outstanding graduating senior in Journalism. (The student may have graduated at the end of the fall term or be scheduled to graduate in the May ceremony.) The honorarium varies yearly, but is usually a few hundred dollars.
Schafer Award application

Rowley Award

The Rowley Award for Journalistic Writing is open to any student, regardless of major or minor, first year through senior year, for one piece of journalistic writing. The honorarium varies yearly, but is usually $50.
Rowley Award application