Fostering Diversity

Resources A to Z

Africana Studies

Name: Leonard A. Slade
Department: Africana Studies
Office: BA 115
E-Mail Address: lslade@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Africana Studies, poetry, publications.

Name: Marcia Sutherland
Department: Africana Studies
Office: BA 115
E-Mail Address: msutherland@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Africana Studies, Black Psychology.

Anthropology

Name: Lawrence Schell
Department: Anthropology
Research center: Center for the Elimination of Minority Health Disparities
Office: Arts & Sciences 103
E-Mail Address: lmschell@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Health disparities, child development, urbanism & reproductive Health

Biological Sciences

Name: Robert Osuna
Department: Biological Sciences
Office: Life Sciences Building, Rm 2062
E-Mail Address: osuna@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology majors

Biomedical Sciences

Name: Qishan Lin
Department: Biomedical Sciences
Office: East Campus
E-Mail Address: linq@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Mass spectrometry, proteomics and chromatography.

Business

Name: Zina Lawrence
Department: Business
Office: Business Administration 361A
E-Mail Address: zlawrence@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Religion & Politics / Comparative
Politics (doctoral research areas), Academic Advisement

Name: Sanjay Goel
Department: Information Technology Management -School of Business
Office: BA 310B
E-Mail Address: goel@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Information/Computer Security, Security Modeling, Risk Analysis, Self-Organizing Systems, Computer Forensics.

Chemistry

Name: Jayanti Pande
Department: Chemistry
Office: Life Sciences 2093
E-Mail Address: jpande@albany.edu
I am a Resource For:Writing technical reports, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Mentoring Female students, Cultural Activities

Name: Rabi Musah
Department: Chemistry
Office: Chemistry 222
E-Mail Address: musah@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Organic Chemistry, Medicinal Chemistry, Biochemistry

Computer Science

Name: S.S. Ravi
Department: Computer Science
Office: LI 96D
E-Mail Address: sravi@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Computer Science, Programming, Algorithms, Advice on courses, Careers in Computer Science and related disciplines.

East Asian Studies

Name: Fan Pen Chen
Department: East Asian Studies
Office: University HU 246
E-Mail Address: fanchen@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Chinese Drama; Chinese women warriors, images of women in traditional Chinese Literature.

Education Health

Name: Lawrence Schell
Department: Center for the Elimination of Minority Health Disparities
Office: Arts & Sciences 103
E-Mail Address: lmschell@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Health disparities, child development, urbanism

Name: Mary Applegate, MD MPH
Department: Health Policy, Management &Behavior
Office: Varies, East Campus
E-Mail Address: mapplegate@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Maternal & child health; physicians interested in public health practice

English

Name: Ineke Murakami
Department: English
Office: Humanities 344
E-Mail Address: imurakami@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Non-traditional background (thus, first-generation college students, as well as students of color--especially Asian).

Financial Aid

Name: Rachael Cofresi
Department: Financial Aid
Office: Financial Aid
E-Mail Address: rcofresi@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Financial Aid

History

Name: Sung Bok Kim
Department: History
Office: Tenbroeck 205-1
E-Mail Address: sbkim@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Early American history including the Era of The American Revolution

Name: Allen Ballard
Department: History
Office: Tenbroeck 205-1
E-Mail Address: aballard@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: African-American history

Judaic Studies

Name: Yoel Hirschfeld
Department: Center for Jewish Studies
Office: Humanities 355
E-Mail Address: yoel@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Israel. I am fluent in Hebrew and Spanish.

Latin American & Caribbean Studies

Name: Jesus Alonso-Regalado
Department: Bibliographer for LACS & LLC
Office: LI 204
E-Mail Address: jalonso-regalado@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Searching for research sources on Latino American, Caribbean & U.S. Latino Studies and Spanish, French, Italian and Portuguese studies.

Latino Faculty & Staff

Name: Karla Jaime
Department: Residential Life
Office: Eastman
E-Mail Address: KJaime@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Any student or professional eager to talk to a young Latino college administrator.

Mathematics

Name: Karin Reinhold
Department: Mathematics and Statistics
Office: Earth Science 128A
E-Mail Address: reinhold@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Theory, Probability, Harmonic Analysis

Media and Marketing

Name: Rebecca Salinas
Department: Media & Marketing
Office: University Hall 203A
E-Mail Address: rsalinas@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Media & Marketing

Motivation

Name: Betty P. Shadrick
Department: Graduate Education
Office: UAB 121
E-Mail Address: bshadrick@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Strategies for succeeding in graduate school, urban education, racial identity theory, Graduate students interested in the Professoriate in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) Fields

Physics

Name: Ariel Caticha
Department: Physics
Office: Physics 213
E-Mail Address: ariel@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: quantum physics, general relativity, information theory, foundations of physics

Political Science

Name: Cheng Chen
Department: Political Science
Office: Milne 103B
E-Mail Address: cchen@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Post-communist politics; nationalism; Chinese, Asians.

Name: Jose Cruz
Department: Political Science/LACS
Office: Milne 219
E-Mail Address: jcruz@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Latino political participation

Professional Development

Name: J. Philippe Abraham
Department: Career Development Center
Office: LI 69
E-Mail Address: pabraham@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Career Related Matters

Name: Andrea Navedo
Department: Human Resources
Office: University Administration 300
E-Mail Address: anavedo@albany.edu

Name: Kyle Nurse
Department: PDP
Office: University Administration 425
E-Mail Address: knurse@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Mentoring an individual in preparation for getting and keeping a professional job.

Name: June Mastan
Department: PDP & University Commission for
Diversity & Affirmative Action4
Office: University Administration 411
E-Mail Address: jmastan@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Business and administrative matters.

Name: Susan D. Phillips
Department: School of Education
Office: University Hall 308
E-Mail Address: Provost@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Education

Psychology/Counseling

Name: Angelina Díaz-Myers
Department: Counseling Center
Office: Health & Counseling Bldg., 2nd Fl.
E-Mail Address: adiaz-myers@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Questions about psychologist career or succeeding in grad school.

Sociology

Name: Angie Chung
Department: Sociology
Office: Arts & Sciences 304
E-Mail Address: aychung@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: summer program at Korea University

Name: Hayward Derrick Horton
Department: Sociology
Office: Arts & Sciences 320
E-Mail Address: hdhorton@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: behavioral, biomedical and physical sciences.

Social Welfare

Name: Lani Jones
Department: Social Welfare
Office: Richardson 216
E-Mail Address: ljones@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Evidence based practice, Psychosocial Competence, Group work and mental health in urban communities.

Name: Bonita Sanchez
Department: Social Welfare
E-Mail Address: bmsanchez@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Community collaboration, children-families services, teaching/learning strategies

Students Activities and Multicultural Affairs

Name: D. Ekow King
Department: Office of Student Activities & Multicultural Affairs
Office: Campus Center 130
E-Mail Address: dking@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Student Activities and Multicultural Affairs

Student Support Services

Name: Christopher Fernando
Department: Academic Support Services, Coordinator Student Support Services Project Excel
Office: LI 94
E-Mail Address: cfernando@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Educational Psychology, nontraditional and underserved populations

Women’s Studies

Name: Vivian Ng
Department: Women’s Studies
Office: LC 31
E-Mail Address: vng@albany.edu
I am a Resource For: Doing Historical research and career planning.