University at Albany

Sustainability at UAlbany

In creating the Task Force on Environmental Sustainability on February 1, 2006, President Kermit Hall outlined the broad goal it would help address. "As a public higher education institution, the University at Albany has both an obligation and an opportunity to be a leader in environmental sustainability. Our institution can and should set an example as an environmentally responsible citizen—a model for other colleges and universities as well as a model for our own students and the community in everyday life.”

To assist in this mission, the Office of Sustainability was created in January 2008 and the Office of Energy Management was established in July of the same year. The sustainability office is comprised of the Director, a Programing Assistant, Student Assistants, and Student Volunteers. The overarching mission of the sustainability office is to support the UN Sustainable Development Goals.