IEEE Circuits and Systems Society

Main Page


President's Message


Executive Committee


Board of Governors


Organization Roster


Technical Committees


Conferences & Workshops


Regional Activities and Chapters


Distinguished Lecturer Program


Publications


Awards


Constitution & Bylaws


Policies & Procedures


Minutes
(password
needed)


For Inquiries:
cas-info@
ieee.org

@

Nanoelectronics and Gigascale Systems Technical Committee (Nano-Giga TC)


____
The Nanoelectronics and Gigascale Systems Technical Committee (Nano-Giga TC) is a Technical Committee of the Circuits and Systems (IEEE-CAS) Society. The Nano-Giga TC is a subsidiary organization of the IEEE-CAS Society and it is governed by the rules and regulations of the IEEE and by the constitution and bylaws of IEEE-CAS, which take precedence over these bylaws in case of conflict.

@

Scope and Mission

____With vast amount of research and development from high-tech industry and strong demands from personal computers, cellular phones, and Internet, the silicon semiconductor technology continues its marvelous progress into the nanometer regime. It is a great challenge to integrate hundreds of millions and billions of silicon nano-devies into giga-scale micro-systems. There exist significant challenges in using nano-structures/ nano-devices to form nanoelectronic integration systems. With the exciting opportunities, research on Nanoelectronics and that on giga-scale systems are tightly coupled together. To promote and excel in the areas of Nanoelectronics and giga-scale systems for circuits and systems research/design community, The Nanoelectronics and Gigascale Systems Technical Committee was organized and approved in early 2001. With the strong support of Society ExCom and BoG members, the Nano-Giga TC has been very actively participating and initiating various activities in publications, conferences, and technical activities at this fast growing profession.

@

Chairman
(2010-2011)

Prof. Wei Wang

College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering

State University of New York at Albany

255 Fuller Rd, Albany, NY, USA 12203

Tel:  +1-518-956-7057

FAX: +1-518-437-8603

Email: wwang@uamail.albany.edu

@

@

Chairs in the Past of Nano-Giga TC :
Founding Chair
(2001V 2002)

Prof. Peter (Chung-Yu) Wu

Department of Electronics Engineering

National Chiao-Tung University

1001 Ta-Hsueh Road, Hsinchu, Taiwan

Email: peterwu@mail.nctu.edu.tw

Past Chair
(2003 V 2004)

Prof. Andreas G. Andreou

Dept. of Elect. & Computer Eng.

Johns Hopkins University

3400 N. Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218

Email : andreou@jhu.edu

Past Chair
(2004 V 2005)

Prof. Chin-Teng Lin

Department of Computer Science

National Chiao-Tung University

1001 Ta-Hsueh Road, Hsinchu, Taiwan

Email: CTLin@mail.nctu.edu.tw

Past Chair
(2006 V 2007)

Dr. Wai-Chi Fang

NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory

California Institute of Technology

MS 198-219, 4800 Oak Grove Drive, Pasadena, CA 91109, U.S.A

Email: wai-chi.fang@jpl.nasa.gov

Past Chair
(2008 V 2009)
Prof. Chua-Chin Wang

Department of Electrical Engineering

National Sun Yat-Sen University

70 Lien-hai Rd. Kaohsiung 804, Taiwan ROC

Tel:  +886-7-525-2000 ext. 4144

FAX: +886-7-525-4199

Email: ccwang@ee.nsysu.edu.tw

Report :

1. Minutes of 2009 Nano-Giga TC Annual Meeting PDF download

2. Annual Report of 2009 Nano-Giga TC PDF download

3. Minutes of 2008 Nano-Giga TC Annual Meeting PDF download

4. Annual Report of 2008 Nano-Giga TC PDF download

5. Minutes of 2007 Nano-Giga TC Annual Meeting  PDF download

6. Annual Report of 2006 Nano-Giga TC  PDF download

7. Minutes of 2004 Nano-Giga TC Annual Meeting  PDF download

TC MembersG
TC member whose info has been updated to date:
Malgorzata Chrzanowska-Jeske Affiliation: Portland State University, Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Address:
1900 SW 4th Avenue, Portland, Oregon, 97207-0751, USA
E
mail: jeske@ece.pdx.edu
U
RL: http://www.ece.pdx.edu/~jeske
Research Interests: Logic and layout synthesis for VLSI IC, SoC, 3D ICs and biochips, integration between process, test and synthesis, nano-deices and synthesis for nano-architectures. 
@
Pedro Julián

@

Affiliation: Departamento de Ingeniería Eléctrica y de Computadoras of Universidad Nacional del Sur
Address:
 DIEC Universidad Nacional del Sur - UNS Avda. Alem 1253, (8000) Bahía Blanca, Argentina
E-mail:
 pjulian@ieee.org
URL:
http://lcr.uns.edu.ar/electronica/gise
TE & FAX:
+54-291-4595101 ext. 3341
Research interests:
Low power VLSI architectures; 3D Integrated Circuits; Acoustic processors; Imagers and circuits for vision.
@

Athanassios N. Skodras

Affiliation:: Hellenic Open University
Address:
 Digital Systems & Media Computing Laboratory, School of Science & Technology, Patras, GR-26222, GREECE
E-mail:
 skodras@eap.gr
URL:
http://dsmc.eap.gr/en/members/skodras/

Research interests:
image and video coding, digital watermarking, fast transform algorithms, real-time digital signal processing and multimedia applications.
@

Bin-Da Liu

Affiliation: Department of Electrical Engineering and SoC Research Center, National Cheng Kung University
Address:
One University Road, Tainan, 70101, Taiwan
Email: bdliu@mail.ncku.edu.tw
URL:
http://spic.ee.ncku.edu.tw
Research interests:
Biomedical circuits and systems, Low power design for analog signal processing, Video signal processing architectures.
@

Bing Sheu

Affiliation: Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company, Program Director, Design and Technology Platform
Address:
9, Creation Road 1, Science Park, Hsin-Chu City, Taiwan 300
Email:
bing_sheu@tsmc.com
Research Interests:
Advanced SoC Chips and Nanometer Technologies for Multimedia Applications.
@

Chua-Chin Wang

Affiliation: National Sun Yet-Sen University
Address:
70, Lian-Hai Rd., Kaohsiung, Taiwan 80424
Email::
ccwang@ee.nsysu.edu.tw
URL:http://vlsi.ee.nsysu.edu.tw/index_en.htm

Research interests:
Nanoelectronics circuit design, VLSI design, low power circuit, biomedical circuit and system, communication interfacing circuit.
@

Eby G. Friedman

Affiliation: Distinguished Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Address:
Computer Studies Building 420, University of Rochester, P.O. Box 27023, Rochester, New York 14627
Email:
friedman@ece.rochester.edu
URL:
http://www.ece.rochester.edu/~friedman

Research interests:
high performance integrated circuit design and related design methodologies.
@

Mona E. Zaghloul

Affiliation: Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Director, Institute for MEMS and VLSI Technologies
Address:
The George Washington University, Washington DC 20052
Email:
zaghloul@gwu.edu
URL:
http://www.ece.gwu.edu/people/mona.htm;
           www.seas.gwu.edu/~mems/

Research interesets:
MEMs and nanodevices and Circuits design at Gega scalefrequencies.
@

Morris Ming-Dou Ker

Affiliation: Department of Electronics Engineering, National Chiao-Tung University
Address:
001 Ta-Hsueh Road, Hsinchu, Taiwan
Email:
mdker@ieee.org
Research Interests:
Reliability Design of Nanoelectronics and Gigascale Systems, Mixed-voltage I/O Circuits in nanoscale CMOS, and Intelligent prosthesis.
@

Paul Ampadu

Affiliation: University of Rochester
Address:
526 Computer Studies Bldg, Rochester, NY 14627
Email:
ampadu@ece.rochester.edu
Research interests:
ultra-low voltage, reliable
systems-on-chip, energy-efficient nanoelectronics.
@

Pinaki Mazumder

Affiliation: Professor, University of Michigan
Address:
EECS Department, Computer Science & Engineering Div.
Email:
mazum@eecs.umich.edu
URL:
http://www.eecs.umich.edu/~mazum
Research interests:
Micro and Nano Electronics -- Devices, Circuits, Systems, Modeling, and Design Automation.
@

Robert W. Newcomb

Affiliation: University of Maryland, College Park
Address:
ECE Dept., UMCP College Park, MD 20742 USA
Email:
newcomb@eng.umd.edu
URL:
http://www.ece.umd.edu/~newcomb/mslab.html
Research interests:
Mathematical theory of circuits and systems Biologically inspired neural networks Nano scale soliton circuits Biomedical engineering systems Analog VLSI circuits.
@

Roska Tamas

Affiliation: Computer and Automation Research Institute of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences and the Pazmany University
Address:
Kende u. 13, Budapest, 1111, Hungary
Email:
roska@sztaki.hu
URL:
http://lab.analogic.sztaki.hu

Research interests: cellular wave computing architectures, nano-architectures, million processor systems on a few chips.
@

Salvatore Baglio

Affiliation: University of Catania
Address:
DIEES, V.le A. Doria 6, 95125, Catania, Italy
Email:
salvatore.baglio@diees.unict.it
URL:
www.diees.unict.it/measurement/baglio
Research interests:
microsensors and nanosensors, materials for sensing and transduction.
@

Sorin Cotofana

Affiliation: Delft University of Technology, Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science, Microelectronics and Computer Engineering Department, Computer Engineering Laboratory
Address:
Mekelweg 42628 CD, Delft, The Netherlands
Email:
S.D.Cotofana@ewi.tudelft.nl
URL:
http://ce.et.tudelft.nl/~sorin
Research interests:
Nanoelectronics, Nanoarchitecture, Design for Variability and Reliability, Fault Tolerant Computation, Computer Architecture and Engineering, Computer Arithmetic, Custom Computing Machines, Embedded Systems, Logic Design, Computer Aided Design, Hardware Software Co-Design, Multimedia Processors, Parallel Processing and Algorithms.
@

Thanos Stouraitis

Affiliation: University of Patras
Address:
ECE Dept., University of Patras, Rio 26500, Greece
Email:
thanos@upatras.gr
URL:
http://dsplab.ece.upatras.gr/thanos/
Research interests:
signal and image processing systems, application-specific processor technology and design, computer arithmetic, and design and architecture of optimal digital systems.
@

Wei Wang

Affiliation:  College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering University at Albany, Albany, NY
Address:
255 Fuller Rd, Albany, NY 12203
Email:
wwang@uamail.albany.edu
URL:

Tel:
1-518-956-7057

Research interests:
Nanoelectronics, 3D IC, memristor, CMOS-nano hybrid circuit, FPGA.
@

Lan-Da Van Affiliation: Department of Computer Science, National Chiao Tung University
Address:
1001 Ta Hsueh Road, Hsinchu 300, Taiwan, R.O.C.
Email:
ldvan@cs.nctu.edu.tw
Research Interests:
VLSI algorithms, architectures, and chips for digital signal processing (DSP), 3-D graphics and baseband communication systems. This includes the design of high-performance /power-aware /low-area 3-D graphics processors, computer arithmetic, MIMO detection, adaptive digital filters, transforms, and platform-based SoC designs.
@
Hsiang-Cheh Huang Affiliation: Department of Electrical Engineering, National University of Kaohsiung
Address: 700 University Road, Kaohsiung 811, Taiwan
Email: huang.hc@gmail.com
URL: http://hchuang.ee.nuk.edu.tw/
Tel: +886-7-591-9373
Research interests: Multimedia signal processing and applications, information security.
Mladen Berekovic Affiliation: Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany, Institute of Computer and Network Engineering
Address: Hans-Sommer-Str. 66, 38106 Braunschweig, Germany
Email: berekovic@ida.ing.tu-bs.de
URL: http://www.ida.ing.tu-bs.de/~berekovic
Research Interests: Circuits & Systems for VLSI IC, SoC, 3D ICs and biochips, integration between process, circuit and system, circuits & architectures for nano-devices
TC member whose info has not been updated since May. 2009:
Andreas G. Andreou andreou@jhu.eduu Johns Hopkins University, USA
Andy Wu andywu@cc.ee.ntu.tw National Taiwan Univ., Taiwan
Angel Rodriguez-Vazquez angel@imse.cnm.es IMSE-CNM
Arpad Csurgay acsurgay@nd.eduu @
Bill Tai billtai@mail.nuu.edu.tw National United University, Taiwan
Chao Xu xuchao@cis.pku.edu.cn Peking Univ., China
Che-Ho Wei chwei@cc.nctu.edu.tw National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan
Chin-Teng Lin ctlin@mail.nctu.edu.tw National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan
Chun-Yen Chang cyc@cc.nctu.edu.tw National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan
Chung-Laung Liu liucl@mx.nthu.edu.tw National Tsing-Hwa University, Taiwan
Cliff Lau LAUC@onr.navy.mil @
Danella Zhao dzhao@cacs.louisiana.edu U. of Louisiana
Fathi M. Salam salam@ee.msu.edu @
George Moschytz moschytz@isi.ee.ethz.ch @
Gianluca Giustolisi gianluca@diees.unict.it University of Catania, Italy
Hsie-Chia Chang hcchang@sizlab.org National Chiao-Tung Univ., Taiwan
Ichiro Kuroda

ichiro.kuroda@necel.com

@
Jeong-Taek Kong jkong@samsung.co.kr @
Josef Nossek nossek@ei.tum.de @
Jui-Lin Lai jllai@nuu.edu.tw @
Keshab Parhi parhi@ee.umn.edu @
Leon Chua chua@fred.eecs.berkeley.edu @
Liang-Gee Chen lgchen@ee.ntu.edu.tw @
Luigi Fortuna luigi.fortuna@dees.unict.it University of Catania, Italy
Mattia Frasca mfrasca@diees.unict.it University of Catania, Italy
Ming Liu liuming@ime.ac.cn @
Mircea Stan (Guest) mircea@virginia.edu Univ. of Virginia
Mohammed Ismail ismail@ee.eng.ohio-state.edu @
Orly Yadid-Pecht

oyp@ee.bgu.ac.il

@
Pamela Abshire pabshire@isr.umd.edu Univ. of Maryland
Pedro Julian pjulian@ieee.org Univ. of Nacional Del Sur, Argentina
Ramalingam Sridhar rsridhar@cse.buffalo.edu @
Rong-Jian Chen rjchen@nuu.edu.tw National United Univ., Taiwan
Rui de Figueiredo rui@ece.uci.edu @
Sethuraman Panchanathan panch@asu.edu @
Wolfgang Porod porod@graz.ee.nd.edu University of Notre Dame, USA
Chin-Wei Liu cwliu@twins.ee.nctu.edu.tw National Chiao-Tung University
Herming Chiueh chiueh@ieee.org National Chiao-Tung University
Ching-Te Chiu ctchiu@cs.nthu.edu.tw National Tsing Hua University
@ @ @