UAlbany School of Education Dean robert Bangert-DrownsOffice of the Dean

The School of Education at the University at Albany has come a long way since its inception in 1844.  Established to be a leader in teacher preparation and higher education in New York State, our School has evolved into a nationally ranked and internationally renowned research institution.  We continue to prepare professionals for vital roles in classrooms and school systems, providing evidence-based strategies for those seeking certification as teachers, principals, and school district leaders.  We also address the special challenges of the 21st century with research and educational programs that explore:

  • technology-based teaching and learning,
  • the development of literacy throughout the lifespan,
  • multinational and cross-cultural comparisons of educational effectiveness,
  • teacher leadership and professional communities,
  • instructional approaches that foster student autonomy, and
  • strategies to foster mental health and human development.

Please take a few moments to browse our web site.  Whether you are a prospective, current, or former student; a member of our faculty or an inquiring colleague; a local teacher or an international scholar, you will find opportunities to participate in our community.  Take a course on campus or online, consider a professional development certificate, enter a master’s or doctoral degree program, partner with us in one of our many projects, offer your expertise or your financial support, help us shape the future of teaching, learning, and human development.  We build a world of integrity, intelligence, and creativity person by person.  Join the School of Education’s long tradition of excellence.

Robert L. Bangert-Drowns
Dean


Dean's Office Staff

  Sara Anderson, Manager of Contracts and Grants Development
ED 239A, (518) 442-5170, sanderson@albany.edu 
  Heidi Andrade, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
ED 210, (518) 442-4988, handrade@albany.edu
  Heidi Audino, Director, Pathways Into Education (PIE) Center
ED 127, (518) 442-4828, haudino@albany.edu 
  Robert Bangert-Drowns, Dean
ED 212, (518) 442-4988, rbangert-drowns@albany.edu
  Olivia Ciesielski, Staff Assistant
ED 239, (518) 442-4895, ociesielski@albany.edu
  Chris Ives, Director, Computing Facilities
ED B14/15, (518) 442-3532, cives@albany.edu
  Sharon Malison, Secretary II
ED 212, (518) 442-4988, smalison@albany.edu
Penny Ng, Assistant Operations Specialist
ED 245, (518) 442-4998, png@albany.edu
  Alison Ciesielski Olin, Assistant Dean for Personnel and Planning
ED 237, (518) 442-3911, aolin@albany.edu
Elizabeth Norton Skrobela, Director of Communications
ED 246, (518) 442-4991, eskrobela@albany.edu
Christine Smith, Assistant Dean for Professional Studies
ED 211, (518) 442-4986, csmith2@albany.edu