UAlbany School of Education Dean robert Bangert-DrownsOffice of the Dean

The School of Education at the University at Albany has come a long way since its inception in 1844.  Established to be a leader in teacher preparation and higher education in New York State, our School has evolved into a nationally ranked and internationally renowned research institution.  We continue to prepare professionals for vital roles in classrooms and school systems, providing evidence-based strategies for those seeking certification as teachers, principals, and school district leaders.  We also address the special challenges of the 21st century with research and educational programs that explore:

  • technology-based teaching and learning,
  • the development of literacy throughout the lifespan,
  • multinational and cross-cultural comparisons of educational effectiveness,
  • teacher leadership and professional communities,
  • instructional approaches that foster student autonomy, and
  • strategies to foster mental health and human development.

Please take a few moments to browse our web site.  Whether you are a prospective, current, or former student; a member of our faculty or an inquiring colleague; a local teacher or an international scholar, you will find opportunities to participate in our community.  Take a course on campus or online, consider a professional development certificate, enter a masterís or doctoral degree program, partner with us in one of our many projects, offer your expertise or your financial support, help us shape the future of teaching, learning, and human development.  We build a world of integrity, intelligence, and creativity person by person.  Join the School of Educationís long tradition of excellence.

Robert L. Bangert-Drowns
Dean


Dean's Office Staff

Robert Bangert-Drowns, Dean
ED 212, (518) 442-4988, rbangert@csc.albany.edu

Robert P. Yagelski, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
ED 210, (518) 442-4988, rpy95@albany.edu

Ruth Pagerey, Assistant Dean for Professional Studies
ED 211, (518) 442-4986, rpagerey@uamail.albany.edu

Mary Murphy, Assistant Dean for Operations and Finance
ED 245, (518) 442-4993, mmurphy@uamail.albany.edu

Sheila Meissner, Secretary
ED 212, (518) 442-4988, smeissner@uamail.albany.edu

Mary Ellsworth, Secretary
ED 239, (518) 442-4985, mellsworth@uamail.albany.edu


Jennifer Hogan, Director of Pathways into
Education Center

ED 127, (518) 442-4828, jhogan@uamail.albany.edu

Chris Ives, Director, Computing Facilities
ED B14/15, (518) 442-3532, cives@uamail.albany.edu

Elizabeth Norton Skrobela, Assistant to the Dean
ED 246, (518) 442-4991, enorton@uamail.albany.edu

Heidi Audino, Assistant to the Dean / Graduate Advisor
ED 127, (518) 442-3529, haudino@albany.edu

Maciej Kucharczyk, Fiscal Officer
ED239, (518) 442-4992, mkucharczyk@uamail.albany.edu

Alison Ciesielski Olin, Operations/Personnel Officer
ED239, (518) 442-3811, abs@albany.edu

Jason Bryer, Webmaster
ED 241, soeweb@uamail.albany.edu