University at Albany

Council Members

The members of the Council are prominent citizens, often from the Capital Region and the New York City Metropolitan area. Their backgrounds are diverse with careers in business and education, government and non-profit organizations and various professions. The Council Chairs have been notable civic leaders including, for example, a former Mayor of Albany (Thomas Whalen), a former Judge (John Holt-Harris), and a founder of one of Albany’s older law firms (J. Vanderbilt Straub).

2012-13 University Council Members

Daniel C. Tomson
Michael J. Castellana '84, MBA '92, Chair
Guilderland, NY
Pierre L. Alric
Pierre L. Alric '69
Vice Chairman

Schenectady, NY
Robert P. Balachandran
Robert P. Balachandran, Esq. '88
New York, NY
Patricia A. Caldwell
Patricia A. Caldwell MBA '75

New York, NY
James Clancy
James M. Clancy
Delmar, NY
John R. Fallon, Jr.
John R. Fallon, Jr., Esq. '77, MPA '81

New York, NY
James Jackson
James O. Jackson, Ph.D.

Albany, NY
Abner JeanPierre
Abner JeanPierre MPA '93

Latham, NY
Michael R. Stein
Michael R. Stein '75

Cooperstown, NY

Klara Botvinnik
Student Representative
Brooklyn, NY



Faculty Representative
Joette M. Stefl-Mabry
Fishkill, NY

Graduate Student Representative
Gary Roth
Oceanside, NY

Alumni Representative
Timothy P. Murphy '77
Ballston Lake, NY





The World Within Reach

Students participate in more than 200 student clubs and honor societies, and enjoy a busy calendar of campus events.