Lambda Pi Eta

Lambda Pi Eta (LPH) is the official communication studies honor society of the National Communication Association (NCA).  To be eligible to join, UAlbany students must meet the following criteria:

  • 60 credits at UAlbany with an overall GPA of at least 3.0
  • 12 credits in Communication with an overall GPA of at least 3.25

About Lambda Pi EtaLambda Pi Eta logo

Lambda Pi Eta (LPH) has more than 400 active chapters at four-year colleges and universities worldwide.  LPH was founded in 1985 and became the official honor society of the National Communication Association in July 1995.

LPH represents what Aristotle described in his book, Rhetoric, as the three ingredients of persuasion: Logos (Lambda) meaning logic, Pathos (Pi) relating to emotion, and Ethos (Eta) defined as character credibility and ethics.

Goals of Lambda Pi Eta

1. Recognize, foster and reward outstanding scholastic achievement in communication studies

2. Stimulate interest in the field of communication

3. Promote and encourage professional development among communication majors

4. Provide an opportunity to discuss and exchange ideas in the field of communication

5. Establish and maintain closer relationships between faculty and students

6. Explore options for graduate education in communication studies

National Recognition

LPH is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS) whose mission is to build a visibly cohesive community of national and international honor societies, individually and collaboratively exhibiting excellence in scholarship, service, programs, and governance. 

New members

The Department of Communication would like to congratulate the 55 new members who were inducted to LPH in April 2013.

Lambda Pi Eta 2013 inductees
                                                                                                                          2013 photos by Mark Schmidt

Fall 2012 

Ashley Alpers
Mylene Assi
Alexandra Berlingieri
Adrienne Blocker
Michele Canale
Lindsay Cohen
Natasha Cooper
Jennifer Coye
Simon Drapkin-Chuprun
Kathryn Giordano
Alana Gold
Victoria Gurrieri
Delfine Kernizan
Antonio Liranzo
Amanda Lobo
Cara McConnachie
Kailey McGarvey
Sydney Mimeles
Ron Nagor
Nikoleta Papa
Annmarie Pichiarallo
Tom Rivett
Michael Rizzo
Christopher Salley
Michael Sedita
Sun Hwa Shin
Kristen Splieth
Erica Stern
Julie Wanamaker 

Spring 2013

Melissa Balais
Michael Block
Darnell Bostick
Cyndra Couch
Brittany Demarco
Xinyi Deng
Christina DiPietro
Michael Dombek
Olivia Fuller
Scott Giannattasio
Joseph Gildea
Nelson Gutierrez
Sarah Holtzman
Nicole Kahn
Emily Martinez
John McLean
Pedro Morico
Jessica Murphy
Erin Murray
Jessica Nasca
Cara O'Brien
Carla Roman
Julia Schuettenberg
Leah Silverman
Alexandra Thayer
Amber Vogel

Lambda Pi Eta 2013 ceremony participants

 More 2013 photos on our Facebook page.

 Spring 2012 inductees 



Officers from the Nu Alpha Chapter of Lambda Pi Eta conduct the 2009 induction ceremony.