Department of Communication


Connect with us on LinkedIn and Facebook

For networking and job listings, find us on LinkedIn. For news and photo galleries, see our Facebook page.

Interested in majoring in Communication?

We are now accepting applications for Fall 2015 admission to the Communication major. To be considered, a student must take Com 100 and a logic/statistics class. Students who average a B between those 2 courses are automatically admitted. Details here.





Commencement '15

The Department of Communication congratulates 213 students earning Bachelor's Degrees and 9 students earning Master's Degrees (Fall 2014 and Spring 2105) at our Departmental Recognition Ceremony on Saturday, May 16, 2015, at SEFCU Arena. Thank you to our guest speaker, NYC Council Member Ben Kallos '02, who is also an alum of our program. And best wishes to Cecilia Guo, who was chosen as the 2015 Wilkie Award winner. A photo gallery can be found on our Facebook page.

Fall '15 schedule available

There are a few seats left in Fall 2015 classes. COM majors and minors can view the schedule online. For detailed information on the Communication listings, see our Forms / Schedules page.

Matsaganis' book cited in magazine

"Understanding Ethnic Media," a 2010 book co-authored by Communication's Matthew Matsaganis (along with Vikki Katz and Sandra Ball-Rokeach), was cited in The Atlantic magazine article "Newspapers That Aren't Dying."

More Department News & Announcements


Professor Annis Golden, ChairWith proximity to New York State’s capital and state government, in the midst of New York State’s burgeoning Tech Valley, and with access to the intellectual resources that only a large public research institution can provide, the Department of Communication at the University at Albany is an exciting place to study for both undergraduate and graduate students.

If you’ve already chosen to study with us, we hope these pages provide you with useful information about our programs and help in making choices about your education.

If you’re considering the possibility of studying with us, please contact us to discuss your goals and what our Department can offer.

Annis Golden, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Department Chair