FALL 1998 ACADEMIC CALENDAR

3 August (Mon) Drop/Add begins via Voice Response Registration (VRR) 9:00AM
26 August (Wed) Drop/Add suspended at 11:59PM
31 August (Mon) CLASSES BEGIN AT 8:00AM
31 August (Mon) Final Registration Day - Last day to register without a late fee
1 September (Tue) Late Registration begins; Drop/Add resumes - 12:01AM
3 September (Thu) Students adding First Quarter courses after this date will require Section Key Numbers from instructors
7 September (Mon) Labor Day - Classes suspended
8 September (Tue) Last day of Late Registration for the semester; Students adding semester length courses after this date will require Section Key Numbers from instructors
8 September (Tue) Last day to add First Quarter courses with Section Key Numbers from instructors; Last day to drop First Quarter courses without receiving "W's"
14 September (Mon) Last day to add semester length courses with Section Key Numbers from instructors; Last day to drop semester length courses without receiving "W's"
14 September (Mon) Last day for undergraduate students to file S/U or A-E grading option cards for First Quarter courses
18 September (Fri) Classes suspended - 5:35PM
23 September (Wed) Classes resume - 12:20PM
29 September (Tue) Classes suspended - 12:35PM
1 October (Thu) Classes resume - 1:00PM
5 October (Mon) Last day for undergraduate students to file S/U or A-E grading option cards for semester length courses
5 October (Mon) Last day to drop First Quarter courses with a "W"
7 October (Wed) Fall 1998 Degree Applications due in Registrar's Office
19 October (Mon) First Quarter Final Examination Period
20 October (Tue) First Quarter Final Examination Period
21 October (Wed) Midterm Point
21 October (Wed)) Second Quarter classes begin - 8:00AM
26 October (Mon) Last day to drop semester length courses with a "W"; Last day for undergraduate students to initiate formal withdrawal from the University and still be eligible for readmission for the following Summer and/or Fall
26 October (Mon) Students adding Second Quarter courses after this date will require Section Key Numbers
from instructors
27 October (Tue) Advance Registration for Spring 1999 begins
28 October (Wed) Last day to add Second Quarter courses with Section Key Numbers from instructors; Last day to drop Second Quarter courses without receiving "W's"
3 November (Tue) Last day for undergraduate students to file S/U or A-E grading option cards for Second Quarter courses
6 November (Fri) Last day for students to make up Incomplete grades from Spring or Summer 1998
17 November (Tue) Last day to drop Second Quarter courses with a "W"
25 November (Wed) Classes Suspended 5:35PM
30 November (Mon) Classes Resume 8:00AM
1 December (Tue) Last day for dissertation and thesis submission for Fall 1998 graduation
9 December (Wed) Last day for undergraduate students to withdraw voluntarily from the University and receive "W's"
9 December (Wed) Last day of classes
10 December (Thu) Reading Day
11 December (Fri) Final Examinations Begin
18 December (Fri) Final Examinations End
Note: The drop dates listed above refer to academic and grading policies only. See the Tuition and Fee section under General Information in the Schedule of Classes for drop deadlines for financial refund/liability adjustment purposes.

The above calendar is subject to change at any time by official action of the

University at Albany
Office of the Registrar
State University of New York
1400 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12222