FALL 2001 ACADEMIC CALENDAR

6 August (Mon) Drop/Add begins via Voice Response Registration (VRR) 9:00AM
20 August (Mon) Drop/Add suspended at 11:59 PM
27 August (Mon) Class begin at 8:00 AM

Final Registration Day. Last day to register without a late fee

28 August (Tue) Late Registration begins. Drop/Add resumes at 12:01 AM
29 August (Wed) Students adding First Quarter courses after this date will require Section Key Numbers from instructors.
 
3 September (Mon) Labor Day — Classes suspended
4 September (Tue) Last day of Late Registration for the semester.

Students adding semester length courses after this date will require Section Key Numbers from instructors

Last day for students to add First Quarter courses with Section Key Numbers from instructors

Last day for students to drop First Quarter courses without receiving "W's"

10 September (Mon) Last day for students to add semester length courses with Section Key Numbers from instructors

Last day for students to drop semester length courses without receiving "W's"

Last day for undergraduate students to file S/U or A-E grading options for First Quarter courses

14 September (Fri) Classes suspended — 5:35 PM
20 September (Thu) Classes resume — 1:00 PM
26 September (Wed) Classes suspended — 12:10 PM
 
1 October (Mon) Classes resume — 8:00 AM
3 October (Wed) Last day for undergraduate students to file S/U or A-E grading option cards for semester length courses

Last day for students to drop First Quarter courses with a "W"

5 October (Fri) Fall 2001 Degree Applications due in Registrar's Office, Campus Center B25
23 October (Tue) Midterm Point

First Quarter Final Examination Period

24 October (Wed) First Quarter Final Examination Period
25 October (Thu) Second Quarter classes begin — 8:00 AM
29 October (Mon) Last day for students to drop semester length courses with a "W"

Last day for undergraduate students with less than a 2.0 cumulative Albany average to initiate withdrawal from the University and still be eligible for readmission for the following Spring.

Students adding Second Quarter courses after this date will require Section Key Numbers from instructors

30 October (Tue) Advance Registration for Spring 2002 begins
 
1 November (Thu) Last day for students to add Second Quarter courses with Section Key Numbers from instructors;
Last day to drop Second Quarter courses without receiving "W's"
7 November (Wed) Last day for undergraduate students to file S/U or A-E grading options for Second Quarter courses
9 November (Fri)  Last day for students to make up Incomplete grades from Spring or Summer, 2001
21 November (Wed) Classes Suspended — 5:35 PM
26 November (Mon)  Classes Resume — 8:00 AM 

Last day for students to drop Second Quarter courses with a "W"

 
3 December (Mon) Last day for dissertation and thesis submission for Fall 2001 graduation
9 December (Sun) December Commencement 1 pm
12 December (Wed) Last day for undergraduate students to withdraw voluntarily from the University and receive "W's"

Last day of classes

13 December (Thu) Reading Day
14 December (Fri)  Final Examinations begin
21 December (Fri)  Final Examinations end 
Final Grades are due 48 hours after Final Exam
Note: The drop dates listed above refer to academic and grading policies only. See the Tuition and Fee section under General Information in the Schedule of Classes for drop deadlines for financial refund/liability adjustment purposes.
The above calendar is subject to change at any time by official action of the
University at Albany
Office of the Registrar
State University of New York
1400 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12222