Department of Chemistry
Staff


Colin Henck
Undergraduate Laboratory Coordinator
Office: Room 309C
Phone: 518-442-4442
chenck@albany.edu

Colin joined the Chemistry Department in 2004. He is responsible for the management of the instructional undergraduate laboratories which include the large General Chemistry and Organic Chemistry laboratories. Colin holds a B.S. and M.S. in Chemistry.

David S. Burz
Instrumentation Specialist
Office: Room B36
Phone: 518-442-4413
dsburz@albany.edu

Dave joined the Chemistry Department in 2005 as a Research Associate and as an Instrumentation Specialist in 2008. He is responsible for maintaining and repairing high-end teaching and research equipment and manages the NMR structural facility in the Chemistry building. Dave holds a B.A. and M.A. in Chemistry and a Ph.D. in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry.

Brian A. Gabriel
Senior Administrator
Office: Room 121
Phone: 518-442-4648
bgabriel@albany.edu

Brian has been with the University since 2005 and he joined the Chemistry department in 2011. Brian is responsible for all graduate student administration. He also manages the departmental finances and all personnel matters. Brian holds a BS and MS degree in Business Administration.

Rama Yaghi
Instructional Support Specialist
Office: Room 137A
Phone: 518-442-4425
RYaghi@albany.edu

Rama joined the Chemistry Department in 2013 and serves as the principal support specialist for the General Chemistry and undergraduate laboratory curriculum. Rama holds a B.S. and M.S. degree in Chemistry.

Lan Huynh
Instructional Support Technician
Office: Room 116
Phone: 518-442-2622
lhuynh@albany.edu

Lan joined Chemistry in 2008 and provides technical instructional support for the organic chemistry laboratory curriculum. She earned her B.S. and M.S degree in chemistry.

Elizabeth Large
Research Administrator
Office: Room 115
Phone: 518-437-3773
elarge@albany.edu

Beth is a professional staff member with the Research Foundation who has her office on site in Chemistry. Beth works with Chemistry and other faculty administering the grant process. She has been with the Research Foundation since 1986. Beth holds a B.S. degree in Economics and is a member of NCUR.

Michele Michele Janishak
Departmental Secretary
Office: Room 122
 
mjanishak@albany.edu

Michele joined the Chemistry Department in 2009

Darshan Darshan Shinde
Webmaster
Phone: 518-229-7765
 
dshinde@albany.edu

Darshan serves as Webmaster for the Chemistry Department website. Prior to this, he has had extensive experience in web development-maintainance, tutoring Physics and Chemistry, and as a Research Assistant. Darshan earned his B.A in Computer Science and Physics (2010) and his M.S. degree in Computer Science (2012).

Kathleen Saxton
Instructional Support Associate
Phone: 518-442-4400
KSaxton@albany.edu

Kathleen joined the Chemistry department in 2014 and provides instructional support for the organic chemistry laboratory curriculum. Kathleen holds a M.S. degree in Chemistry from Syracuse University.