Steering Committee

    Asal, Victor, *

    Associate Professor
    Political Science
    Campus Address: Milne Hall 300B
    Phone: 518-591-8729
    Email: vasal@albany.edu

    Research Interests: The reasons organizations choose to start using violence. Why some organizations choose certain tactics instead of others. The relationship between governmental behavior and the choice of violence.

    Berg, George, *

    Associate Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: BA 310
    Phone: 518-442-4267
    Email: berg@cs.albany.edu

    Research Interests: Machine learning, computational biology, natural language processing

    Gallant, Mary

    Associate Professor
    Health Policy, Management and Behavior
    Campus Address: One University Place, Room 159
    Phone: 518-402-0292
    Email: mgallant@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Public health and aging, older adults as a vulnerable population in relation to public health preparedness

    Goel, Sanjay, **

    Associate Professor
    Information Technology Management
    Campus Address: BB 311
    Phone: 518-956-8323
    Email: goel@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Behavioral Information Security, Cyber Physical Systems, Complex Systems, Cyber Warfare, Hacking, Smart Grid, Connected Vehicles

    Gray, Elizabeth Q.

    Assistant Dean
    Campus Address: Draper Hall 340
    Phone: 518-442-5351
    Email: eqgray@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Education start-up initiatives, extending educational opportunities, education in developing countries, higher education administration, community-based program development, not-for-profit management

    Kiorpes, Karen

    Associate Librarian
    Campus Address: SL 310
    Phone: 518-437-3923
    Email: kkiorpes@albany.edu

    Research Interests: The protection and prevention of damage or loss to cultural collections and cultural properties.

    Lawson, Catherine, **

    Associate Professor
    Geography and Planning
    Campus Address: AS 218
    Phone: 518-442-4775
    Email: lawsonc@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Urban Transportation Data and Information Systems; freight planning; travel behavior and time use; water transport; hazardous materials transport; microsimulation and GIS applications; Big Data

    Mathews, Rick

    Email: rmathews@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Homeland security, infrastructure protection, intelligence, counter-terrorism and terrorism interdiction, information sharing, weapons of mass destruction, critical decision making, facility and systems security, and emergency preparedness

    Nussbaum, Brian

    Assistant Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson Hall 289
    Phone: 518-442-5781
    Email: bnussbaum@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Terrorism and Counterterrorism, Homeland Security, Cyber Threats, Infrastructure Protection, Intelligence Analysis and Risk Assessment, State and Local Homeland Security

    Rethemeyer, Karl

    Associate Professor
    Public Administration and Policy
    Interim Dean, Rockefeller College of Public Affairs and Policy
    Campus Address: Milne 102
    Phone: 518-442-5244
    Email: kretheme@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Terrorism, terrorist networks, terrorist organizations, network analysis, stochastic network analysis

    Rousseau, David L.

    Associate Professor
    Campus Address: Richardson Hall 283
    Phone: 518-442-5258
    Email: drousseau@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Military conflict, shared identity, political development, and foreign policy

    Steiner, James E.

    Program Coordinator for Homeland Security, Cyber Security, and Emergency Management and Public Service Professor
    Public Administration and Policy
    Campus Address: Milne Hall 119A
    Phone: 518-442-5378
    Email: jsteiner@albany.edu

    Research Interests: National, state, local, and private sector intelligence, including intelligence analysis for homeland security and for national security policymaking. Professor Steiner is a retired senior CIA officer and the author of Homeland Security Intelligence (Sage/CQ Press)

    Thorncroft, Christopher D.

    Chair and Professor
    Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences
    Campus Address: ES 226
    Phone: 518-442-4555
    Email: cthorncroft@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Variability of extreme weather including how this is changing in association with climate change.