Faculty & Staff

 

Faculty

    Aksoy, Mustafa

    Assistant Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 091A
    Phone: 518-442-2597
    Email: maksoy@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Microwave remote sensing, electromagnetic theory, geosciences, signal processing and data analytics

    Atrey, Pradeep K.

    Associate Professor
    Computer Science
    Director of Computer Science Undergraduate Program / Affiliated Faculty,
    College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity
    Campus Address: UAB 421
    Phone: 518-437-4943
    Email: patrey@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Multimedia data analytics with a focus on security and privacy issues in application areas such as surveillance, social media, and cloud computing

    Berg, George

    Associate Professor
    Computer Science
    Afilliated Faculty, Department of Informatics
    Campus Address: UAB 413
    Phone: 518-437-4937
    Email: berg@cs.albany.edu

    Research Interests: Machine learning, computational biology, natural language processing

    Bloniarz, Peter A.

    Associate Professor
    Computer Science
    Executive Director and Senior Policy Advisor to the Governor’s Cyber Security Advisory Board
    Email: p.bloniarz@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Curriculum and pedagogic innovations, public sector information systems

    Bogdanov, Petko

    Assistant Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 416
    Phone: 518-437-4939
    Email: pbogdanov@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Data mining and management with a focus on graph data and applications to bioinformatics, neuroscience, material informatics and sociology.

    Boyer, Kim L.

    Dean and Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: DR115
    Phone: 518-956-8240
    Email: kboyer3@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Computer vision and medical image analysis, including perceptual organization, structural analysis, graph theoretical methods, stereopsis in weakly constrained environments, optimal feature extraction, large model bases, and robust methods

    Chang, Ming-Ching

    Assistant Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 090A
    Phone: 518-442-5085
    Email: mchang2@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Video analytics, computer vision, and machine intelligence

    Chelmis, Charalampos

    Assistant Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 424B
    Phone: 518-437-4948
    Email: cchelmis@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Modeling, algorithmic, computational, and practical aspects of all V's of Big Data

    Chen, Feng

    Assistant Professor
    Computer Science
    Affiliated Faculty
    Department of Informatics, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Campus Address: UAB 426
    Phone: 518-437-4940
    Email: fchen5@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Detection of emerging events and other relevant patterns in the mobile context and/or data mining of spatial temporal, textual, or social media data

    Chen, Mei

    Associate Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 84B
    Phone: 518-442 3140
    Email: meichen@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Computer vision, biomedical imaging, computational photography, robot perception

    Chen, Mei-Hwa F.

    Associate Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 427
    Phone: 518-437-4952
    Email: mhc@cs.albany.edu

    Research Interests: Software reliability modeling, software testing, software architecture

    Cortesi, Guy

    Professor of Practice
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 080
    Phone: 518-330-1096
    Email: gcortesi@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Effective use of information technology in distance reporting and virtual organizational settings; the relation of communication channel and task on group composition, participation, and performance in virtual organizations.

    Dutta, Aveek

    Assistant Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 089A
    Phone: 518-442-5083
    Email: adutta@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Enforcement of spectrum policy, vehicular channel analytics, heterogeneous networks, hybrid radio architecture

    Ekenna, Chinwe

    Assistant Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 423
    Phone: 518-437-4946
    Email: cekenna@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Robotics, machine learning, and computational biology

    Elgala, Hany

    Assistant Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 086
    Phone: 518-442-2585
    Email: helgala@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Telecommunications, digital signal processing and embedded systems

    Hunt, Harry B., III

    Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 424A
    Phone: 518-437-4947
    Email: hunt@cs.albany.edu

    Research Interests: Combinatorial and sequential logic, database systems, program development and code optimization in high-performance scientific programming, simulation science, combinatorial optimization and approximation

    Hwang, Jeong-Hyon

    Associate Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 409
    Phone: 518-437-4935
    Email: jhh@cs.albany.edu

    Research Interests: Databases, distributed systems, real-time data analysis

    Kim, Yelin

    Assistant Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 090B
    Phone: 518-442-5081
    Email: yelinkim@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Computational human behavior and interaction analysis, human-centered and affective computing, multimodal signal processing, machine learning, computer vision

    Kuperman, Vladimir

    Professor of Practice
    Computer Science
    Email: vkuperman@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Information and computer technologies, computer networking, mathematics for decision making, global economics

    Liang, Yanna

    Chair and Professor
    Environmental and Sustainable Engineering
    Campus Address: UAB 234
    Phone: 518-437-4979
    Email: yliang3@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Waste conversion to commodity fuels and chemicals through biochemical, thermochemical and bioelectrochemical pathways; use of omics-approaches for understanding complex natural and engineered systems; and process optimization for maximizing yield of value-added products for commercial scale-up.

    Lyu, Siwei

    Associate Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 414
    Phone: 518-437-4938
    Email: slyu@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Statistical modeling of images, digital image forensics, computer vision, image processing, machine learning, pattern recognition

    Masoumzadeh, Amirreza

    Assistant Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 422
    Email: amasoumzadeh@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Information security and privacy, including access control policy models and privacy-preserving data sharing in application domains such as social media and location-bases services

    Moulic, Randy

    Associate Dean & Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Acting Chair, Department of Computer Science
    Campus Address: DR 112
    Phone: 518-956-8242
    Email: jmoulic@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Digital electronics, computer architecture and design

    Muckell, Jonathan

    Professor of Practice
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 081
    Phone: 518-442-3167
    Email: jmuckell@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Geospatial compression algorithms, performance benchmarks, supply chain tracking, assistive living devices, and 3D printing

    Murray, Ann Marie

    Associate Provost for Program Development
    Office of the Provost
    Service Professor
    College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Campus Address: UNH 308B
    Phone: 518-956-8030
    Email: amurray2@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Mathematical Learning Theory, APOS Theory, Deconstruction of the product rule in Calculus I, Curriculum and Instruction, Engineering Education, Online Learning

    Narendran, Paliath

    Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 411
    Phone: 518-437-4936
    Email: dran@cs.albany.edu

    Research Interests: Automated reasoning, formal verification, pattern matching

    Saha, Dola

    Assistant Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 089B
    Phone: 518-442-5082
    Email: dsaha@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Analytics for wireless networks, spectrum forensics, indoor localization, CloudRAN, MAC-PHY crosslayer techniques, software defined radio

    Sahebi, Shaghayegh

    Assistant Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 425
    Email: ssahebi@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Human-centered data mining including educational data mining, recommender and personalization systems, and user modeling

    Saulnier, Gary J.

    Chair and Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Chair, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 084A
    Phone: 518-442-3176
    Email: gsaulnier@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Communications, signal processing, electronic instrumentation, impedance tomography systems for medical applications, acoustic data and power transmission systems

    Soyata, Tolga

    Associate Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: RI 396
    Email: tsoyata@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Cyber physical systems, digital health (D-Health), and high-performance medical data processing and visualization

    Strzalkowski, Tomek

    Professor
    Computer Science
    Affiliated Faculty
    Department of Informatics, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Campus Address: SS 262B
    Phone: 518-442-2608
    Email: tomek@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Natural language processing, computational sociolinguistics, information retrieval

    Wang, Qi

    Lecturer
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 429
    Phone: 518-437-4955
    Email: qwang3@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Computer Science, software development

    Wang, Weifu

    Assistant Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 091B
    Phone: 518-442-3844
    Email: wwang8@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Robotics, motion planning, manipulation

    Willard, Dan E.

    Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 420
    Phone: 518-437-4942
    Email: dew@cs.albany.edu

    Research Interests: Mathematical logic (with a concentration in proof theory), the complexity of retrieval algorithms, computational geometry, databases, sociobiology

    Zheleva, Mariya

    Assistant Professor
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 418
    Phone: 518-437-4941
    Email: mzheleva@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Wireless networks, deployment and monitoring, cognitive radio and dynamic spectrum access, networking for developing regions

    Zois, Daphney-Stavroula

    Assistant Professor
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 088A
    Phone: 518-442-5086
    Email: dzois@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Decision making under uncertainty, machine learning, Internet of things & e-health applications, detection & estimation theory, intelligent systems design, signal processing & communications, optimization, pervasive computing, sensor networks, stochastic control, embedded systems

Staff

    Augustine, William Anthony

    UNIX Systems Administrator
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 402
    Phone: 518-437-4932
    Email: waugustine@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Computer and network security, intrusion detection and prevention, risk analysis

    Brock, Victoria J.

    Finance Manager
    Office of the Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Campus Address: DR 114B
    Phone: 518-956-8248
    Email: vbrock@albany.edu

    Carroll, Nan

    Assistant Dean
    Office of the Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Campus Address: DR 113
    Phone: 518-442-5111
    Email: ncarroll@albany.edu

    Edelson, Diana

    Assistant Dean and Director of Finance and Administration
    Office of the Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Campus Address: DR 114A
    Phone: 518-956-8243
    Email: dedelson@albany.edu

    Jorgensen, Daphne

    Assistant Dean/Adjunct Faculty
    Office of the Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Campus Address: DR 116
    Phone: 518-956-8244
    Email: djorgensen@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Online pedagogy; faculty attitudes towards online teaching and learning; faculty adoption of online teaching; language in education; dialogic classroom; social, cognitive, and instructional presence in the computer mediated classroom

    Moore, Kristine

    Administrative Manager
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 232
    Phone: 518-437-4933
    Email: kmoore3@albany.edu

    Mora, Michelle

    Academic Advisor
    Office of the Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Campus Address: LI 87
    Phone: 518-442-3240
    Email: mmora@albany.edu

    Perrott, Ryan

    Secretary
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: UAB 404
    Phone: 518-437-4950
    Email: rperrott@albany.edu

    Rogers, Deneen

    Secretary
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 84A
    Phone: 518-442-3140
    Email: derogers@albany.edu

    Rowe, Veronica

    Administrative Manager
    Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: LI 84C
    Phone: 518-442-3639
    Email: vrowe@albany.edu

    Schnitzer, Todd J.

    Academic Advisor
    Office of the Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Campus Address: LI 87
    Phone: 518-442-3185
    Email: tschnitzer@albany.edu

    St. John, Angela

    Secretary
    Office of the Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Campus Address: DR 116
    Phone: 518-956-8240
    Email: astjohn@albany.edu

    Taitel, Daphny

    Finance Manager
    Office of the Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Computer Science and Computer Engineering
    Campus Address: DR 114C
    Phone: 518-956-8249
    Email: dtaitel@albany.edu

Faculty Emeritus

    Andersen, David Fadum

    Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus
    Public Administration and Policy
    Affiliated Faculty, Informatics Department, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Campus Address: MI 315
    Phone: 518-442-5280
    Email: david.andersen@albany.edu

    Research Interests: System Dynamics Simulation; Public Policy Analysis, Information Government and Democratic Society

    Andersen, Deborah Lines

    Associate Professor Emerita
    Information Science
    Email: dla@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Research methods and statistics, electronic information access technologies and their users, public libraries

    Arden, Dean

    Professor Emeritus
    Computer Science

    Chaiken, Seth

    Associate Professor Emeritus
    Computer Science
    Email: sdc@cs.albany.edu

    Research Interests: Combinatorial theory and linear algebra and their applications to electronic circuits, computer architecture, algorithms, computational geometry

    Faerman, Sue R.

    Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus
    Affiliated Faculty, Department of Informatics, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Email: sfaerman@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Managerial Leadership, Women and Leadership, Managerial Transitions

    Gangolly, Jagdish

    Associate Professor Emeritus
    Informatics

    Research Interests: Automatic Classfication of accounting concepts to generate retrieval thesauri for accounting. The development of markup languages for  financial accounting standards. Mathematical modeling of security & controls in accounting information systems.The relationship between accounting, legal theory, and political philosophy.

    Lance, Tim

    Distinguished Service Professor
    Mathematics and Statistics
    Affilliated Faculty
    Department of Informatics, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Phone: 518-442-4610
    Email: tlance@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Geometric toplogy, group actions on manifolds, cobordism theory, smoothing theory, homotopy theory of classifying spaces, applications to number theory, non-linear simliarity.

    Mohan, Lakshmi

    Vincent O'Leary Associate Professor
    Information Technology Management
    Affiliated Faculty
    Department of Informatics, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
    Phone: 518-956-8324
    Email: lmohan@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Decision support systems, business intelligence, data warehousing and data mining, customer relationship management, information resource management

    Mullin, Lenore

    Associate Professor Emerita
    Computer Science
    Email: lmullin@albany.edu

    Research Interests: Design, verification. and implementation of tensor based algorithms, in software and Exascle hardware where energy and power are reconfigurable resources and data locality is paramount. Tensors are ubiquitous in all areas of IoT: Signal Processing, Modeling, Linear and Multilinear Algebra.

    Murray, Neil V.

    Professor Emeritus
    Computer Science
    Email: nvm@cs.albany.edu

    Research Interests: Automated deduction, extension of deductive techniques to various non-classical logics (including multiple-valued, annotated and fuzzy logic), knowledge compilation

    Ravi, Sekharipuram Subramaniam

    Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus
    Computer Science
    Email: ssravi0@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Design and analysis of algorithms, data mining, mobile computing, operations research, fault-tolerant computing, very large scale integration (VLSI)

    Rosenkrantz, Daniel J.

    Professor Emeritus
    Computer Science
    Email: drosenkrantz@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Database systems, algorithms, high-performance computing

    Stearns, Richard E.

    Distinguished Professor Emeritus
    Computer Science
    Campus Address: LI 67F
    Phone: 518-729-5483
    Email: res@cs.albany.edu

    Research Interests: Computational complexity, automata theory, analysis of algorithms, game theory