University at Albany
 

College of Arts and Sciences


A | B | C | D | E | G | H | J | L | M | P | R | S | W

Africana Studies

Intern Contact: Dr. Oscar Williams, Director of Undergraduate Advisement
Email: orw@albany.edu
Website: The Undergraduate Program in Africana Studies
Internship Courses: Currently there is no internship curriculum in Africana Studies

 

Go to top

Anthropology

Intern Contact: Linda Goodwin
Email: lgoodwin@albany.edu
Website: Anthropology Undergraduate Programs
Internship Courses: ANT 490: Internship in Archaeological Conservation and Documentation

 

Go to top

Art (Studio Art)

Intern Contact: Phyllis Galembo
Email: pgalembo@albany.edu
Website: Studio Art: Internships & Careers
Internship Courses: ART 490: Internship in Studio Art
ART 492: Internship in Art Museum Management and Operation

 

Go to top

Art History

Intern Contact: Sarah Cohen
Email: scohen@albany.edu
Website: Art History: Internships & Careers
Internship Courses: ARH 490: Internship in Art History
ARH 491: Internship in Film Studies

 

Go to top

Atmospheric Science

Intern Contact: Vincent Idone
Email: vidone@albany.edu
Website: Department of Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences
Internship Courses: ATM 490: Internship in Atmospheric Science
Alternatives:
Check out possible research opportunities at the Atmospheric Sciences Research Center.

 

Go to top

Biology

Intern Contact: Rolando Valentin
Email: rvalentin@albany.edu
Website: Biological Sciences
Internship Courses: There is no internship course in this undergraduate program.
Alternative:
Bio 399/499: Supervised Research for Juniors and Seniors
Contact Person: Dr. Robert Osuna

 

Go to top

Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Intern Contact: Caren Stark
Email: cstark@albany.edu
Website: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Internship Courses: There is no internship course for this undergraduate program. Please see sections for either Biology or Chemistry for relevant information.

 

Go to top

Chemistry

Intern Contact: Brian Gabriel: Administrative Manager, Dept. of Chemistry
Email: bgabriel@albany.edu
Website: Department of Chemistry
Internship Courses: CHM 390: Chemistry Internship
CHM 455: Forensic Chemistry Internship

 

Go to top

Communication

Intern Contact: Dr. William Husson
Email: whusson@albany.edu
Website: Communication Internships
Internship Courses: COM 390: Internship in Communication (Part-time, 1 – 3 credits)
COM 392/393Z: Internship in Operational and Applied Communication Theory (Full-time, 15 credits)

 

Go to top

Documentary Studies

Intern Contact: Gerald Zahavi
Email: gzahavi@albany.edu
Website: Department of Documentary Studies
Internship Courses: DOC 499: Special Projects and Internship in Documentary Studies

 

Go to top

East Asian Studies

Intern Contact: Susanna Fessler or Andrew Byon
Email: sfessler@albany.edu, abyon@albany.edu
Website: Department of East Asian Studies
Internship Courses: NONE
A practicum course is offered for those interested in teaching Japanese (EAJ 423: Practicum in Teaching Japanese).

 

Go to top

Economics

Intern Contact: Michael Sattinger
Email: msattinger@albany.edu
Website: Department of Economics
Internship Courses: ECO 496: Economics Internship

 

Go to top

English

Intern Contact: Holly McKenna
Email: hmckenna@albany.edu
Website: English Department Internships
Internship Courses: ENG 390: Internship in English

 

Go to top

Environmental Science

Intern Contact: Vincent Idone
Email: vidone@albany.edu
Website: Environmental Science Internships
Internship Courses: ENV 496: Environmental Internships

 

Go to top

Geography

Intern Contact: Yougin Huang
Email: yhuang@albany.edu
Website: Department of Geography and Planning
Internship Courses: GOG 417: Geography Internships

 

Go to top

Geography Planning

Intern Contact: Any faculty member from Planning.
Email: -----------
Website: Department of Geography and Planning
Internship Courses: PLN 490: Planning Internship

 

Go to top

Globalization Studies

Intern Contact: Ray Bromley
Email: rbromley@albany.edu
Website: Department of Globalisation Studies
Internship Courses: GLO 402: Globalization Studies Internship

 

Go to top

History

Intern Contact: Professor Ryan Irwin 
Email: rirwin@albany.edu
Website: Department of History
Internship Courses: HIS 499: Special Projects in History

 

Go to top

Human Biology

Intern Contact: Bianca Englese
Email: benglese@albany.edu
Website: Department of Human Biology
Internship Courses: There is no credit-bearing internship course in this curriculum.

 

Go to top

Journalism

Intern Contact: Holly McKenna
Email: hmckenna@albany.edu
Website: Department of Journalism
Internship Courses: JRL 495: Internship in Journalism -
(3, 4, 5, or 6 credits)

 

Go to top

Latin America, Caribbean & US Latino Studies

Intern Contact: Christine Vassallo-Oby, Ph.D.
Email: cvassallo-oby@albany.edu
Website: Department of Latin America, Caribbean and US Latino Studies
Internship Courses: LCS 450: Legislative Internship

 

Go to top

Linguistics and Cognitive Science

Intern Contact: Linda Goodwin
Email: lgoodwin@albany.edu
Website: Department of Linguistics and Cognitive Science
Internship Courses: There is no credit-bearing internship program in this curriculum.

 

Go to top

Mathematics

Intern Contact: Joan Mainwaring
Email: jmainwaring@albany.edu
Website: Department of Mathematics
Internship Courses: There is no credit-bearing internship program in this curriculum.

 

Go to top

Music

Intern Contact: Nancy Newman: Department Chair
Email: nnewman@albany.edu
Website: Department of Music
Internship Courses: MUS 490: Internship in Music (generic course: 1 – 12 credits)
MUS 490: Internship with Albany Pro Musica (1 – 4 credits)

 

Go to top

Philosophy

Intern Contact: Ron McClamrock
Email: rmcclamrock@albany.edu
Website: Department of Philosophy
Internship Courses: There is no credit-bearing internship program in this curriculum.

 

Go to top

Physics

Intern Contact: Paul LaBate
Email: plabate@albany.edu
Website: Department of Physics
Internship Courses: There is no credit-bearing internship program in this curriculum. Physics majors are strongly encouraged to participate in research opportunities.
Phy 497: Research and/or Independent Study (1-3)

 

Go to top

Psychology

Intern Contact: Annie Connors
Email: aeconnors@albany.edu
Website: Department of Psychology
Internship Courses: There is no credit-bearing internship program in this curriculum. Psychology majors are strongly encouraged to participate in research opportunities.

 

Go to top

Religious Studies

Intern Contact: To Be Announced
Email: --------
Website: Department of Religious Studies
Internship Courses: There is no credit-bearing internship program in this curriculum.

 

Go to top

Sociology

Intern Contact: Joanna Dreby 
Email: jdreby@albany.edu
Website: Department of Sociology
Internship Courses: ASOC 490

 

Go to top

Women's Studies

Intern Contact: Vivian Ng
Email: vng@albany.edu
Website: Department of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies
Internship Courses: WSS 492: Internship in Women’s Studies

 

Go to top