Dean's Welcome

The School of Business at the University at Albany offers a broad range of excellent business and accounting programs, championed by our dedicated staff and our highly qualified and engaged faculty. U.S. News & World Report ranks us #3 among public colleges and universities in New York.

I am proud of our students. We attract the best and brightest. Our selective requirements attract highly motivated, hardworking, and committed students to our programs. We endeavor to ensure that our students experience a rigorous program that enables them to be competitive in the marketplace, with excellent placement opportunities upon graduation.

School of Business programs are built on a strong foundation in accounting, finance, management, marketing and information technology management, and enhanced through cutting edge technology applications, experiential learning and industry practicums in digital forensics, financial analysis and modeling, financial market regulation, forensic accounting and human resource information systems.

Enthusiastic young faculty emerging as experts in their respective fields join with our world-renowned faculty to teach and engage students in research. The School of Business is home to three research centers – the Center for Institutional Investment Management; the Center for Advancement and Understanding of Social Enterprise; and the Center for Forensics, Analytics, Complexity, Energy, Transportation and Security. Faculty have received more than $10 million in grants and funded research – the highest among all business schools in the U.S.

Our dual AACSB accreditation in business and accounting is a distinction shared by fewer than 2% of the world's 13,000 business schools and only three universities in New York.

We do it all in the Massry Center for Business, an impressive, student-focused, state-of-the-art, Leed Gold certified building with technologically advanced classrooms, a trading room, career and advising services, advanced computing labs, research centers, meeting rooms for the entrepreneurial Blackstone Launchpad, and the open and interactive environment of the Standish Living Room.

We will be delighted to welcome you to our School.

Hany Shawky
Interim Dean
hshawky@albany.edu
(518) 956-8337


 Dean’s Office Staff

Jennifer North
Secretary, Dean's Office
jnorth@albany.edu
518-956-8370



Suraj Commuri
Associate Dean
scommuri@albany.edu
518-956-8380 


Tyrone Reid
Assistant Dean and Director, Finance and Administration
treid@albany.edu

518-956-8316







Zina Lawrence

Assistant Dean and Director, Campus Full-time MBA Program
zlawrence@albany.edu
518-956-8378


 

Bill Roller
Director, Development
wroller@albany.edu
518-956-8312



Michele Flynn
Director, Communications
mflynn@albany.edu
518-956-8375