Biodiversity, Conservation,
 and Policy

University at Albany Faculty

 
George Robinson
  Interim Director, Biodiversity, Conservation and Policy Program
  Associate Professor of Biological Sciences
  PhD, University of California, Davis, 1989
  Biological Conservation; Invasive species;Plant ecology; Environmental Policy; Restoration Ecology.
  (518) 442-4302
  grobins@albany.edu
 
 
Gary Kleppel
  Professor of Biological Sciences
  PhD, Fordham University, 1979
  Aquatic Ecology; Effect of Human Demographic and Land Use Patterns on Ecosystem Integrity
  (518) 442-4338
  gkleppel@albany.edu
   
 
Wendy Turner
  Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences
  PhD, University of California, Berkeley
  Disease Ecology and Evolution, Wildlife Ecology, Wildlife Conservation
  (518) 442-4308
  wcturner@albany.edu
   
 
Ing-Nang Wang
  Associate Professor of Biological Sciences
  PhD, State University of New York, Stony Brook
  Experimental Modelling of Coevolution, Microbial Ecology, Disease Ecology and Evolution
  (518) 591-8844
  ingnang@albany.edu
   
Alexander Buyantuev
  Assistant Professor in Geography and Planning
  PhD Arizona State University, Tempe, 2008
  Landscape Ecology, Urbanization and Urban Ecology, Phenology, Grassland Ecosystems, Remote Sensing, Land Use/ Cover Change
  (518) 442-4776
  abuyantuev@albany.edu
   
 
Shiguo Jiang
  Assistant professor of Geography
  PhD, Ohio State University, 2012
  Land Use Cover Change, Climate Change, Policy; Spatial Data Quality; Urban Studies: Multiple Angles; Global Warming and Forest Change
  (518) 591-8561
  sjiang2@albany.edu
   
 
Andrei Lapenas
  Assistant Professor in Geography and Planning
  PhD, State Hydrological Institute, St. Petersburg, 1986
  Anthropogenic Climate Change, Global Carbon Cycle, Biogeochemical Coupling in Soil-Atmosphere-Biota System, Acclimation of Leaving Organisms to Recent Changes in Climate
  (518) 442-4191
  alapenas@albany.edu
   
 
Jennifer Dodge
  Assistant Professor Department of Public Administration & Policy, Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
  PhD, New York University, 2011
  Nonprofits and Democratic Governance
  (518) 442-5274
  jdodgeo@albany.edu
   

Affiliates and Instructors

 
Peter Groffman
  Adjunct Professor, Cary Institute of Ecological Studies
  PhD, University of Georgia, 1984
  Microbial and soil ecology
  (845) 677-7600, ext. 128
  groffmanp@ecostudies.org
   
 
John B. Davis
  Visiting Scientist
  M.S., SUNY Albany, 2007
  Geographic modeling, Geographic Information systems
  (518) 442-4341
  jbdavis@albany.edu
   
 
Stuart E. G. Findlay
  Adjunct Professor
Aquatic Ecologist, Institute for Ecosystem Studies
  PhD, 1981, University of Georgia
  Characterization and microbial assimilation of dissolved organic carbon in aquatic ecosystems, importance of hyporheic metabolism in stream ecosystems and approaches to generalizing studies of function in vegetated aquatic habitats.
  (845) 677-7600 Ext. 138
  findlays@ecostudeis.org
 
 
Gary M. Lovett
  Adjunct Professor
Ecosystem Ecologist, Institute for Ecosystem Studies
  PhD, 1981, Dartmouth College
  Focused on how perturbations such as air pollution, introduced pests and pathogens, and insect defoliators affect forest nutrient cycling.
  (845) 677-7600 Ext. 132
  lovettg@ecostudies.org
   
 
Pete Nye
  Adjunct, Wildlife Management
  M.S., 1978
  Former Head of the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation's Endangered Species Unit. Responsible for the New York State Bald Eagle Restoration program. Teaches a graduate course in Wildlife Management, acts as student advisor.
  pnye@albany.edu
   
 
Dawn O'Neal
  Adjunct Professor
Avian Ecologist, Executive Director, Edmund Niles Huyk Preserve
  PhD, Indiana University, 2010
  Dr. O'Neal manages informal and formal public programming, and manager of the research station, she oversees and approves all research conducted at the Preserve.
  (518) 717-3440
  dawn@huyckpreserve.org
 
Elizabeth Searing
  Assistant Professor Department of Public Administration & Policy, Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy
  PhD, Georgia State University
  Nonprofit and social enterprise ecology
  (518) 717-3440
 

esearing@albany.edu

 
Patricia Strach
  Associate Professor, Departments of Political Science and Public Administration & Policy, Deputy Director for Research, Rockefeller Institute of Government
  PhD, University of Wisconsin, 2004
  Social and political institutions in American public policy
 

pstrach@albany.edu

 
David Strayer
  Adjunct Professor
Aquatic Ecologist, Institute for Ecosystem Studies
  PhD, Cornell University, 1984
  Distribution and role of invertebrates; zebra mussel invasion
  (845) 677-7600 Ext. 148
  strayerd@ecostudies.org
 
 
Jeffrey D. Zappieri
  Adjunct, Coastal Zone Management
  M.S., SUNY Albany, 1998
  Teaches a graduate course in Coastal Zone Management, acts as student advisor, and serves as board member of the Professional Science Masters Degree Program, Business Advisory Board
  jzappieri@albany.edu