Biodiversity, Conservation & Policy

Faculty

Gary Kleppel
Director, Biodiversity, Conservation and Policy Program
Professor of Biological Sciences

Ph.D., Fordham University, 1979.

Aquatic ecology; effect of human demographic and land use patterns on ecosystem integrity.

(518) 442-4338
gkleppel@albany.edu



George Robinson
Co-Director, Biodiversity, Conservation and Policy Program
Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 1989.

Plant community ecology; biological invasions; biodiversity and public policy; restoration ecology.

(518) 442-4302
grobins@albany.edu


Peter Groffman
Adjunct Professor,
Cary Institute of Ecological Studies,,
Ph.D., University of Georgia, 1984

Microbial and soil ecology

(845) 677-7600, ext. 128
groffmanp@ecostudies.org


Gene E. Likens
Adjunct Professor
Director/President, Institute of Ecosystem Studies

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1962

Long-term studies of the energy flow and biogeochemical fluxes for northern hardwood forest ecosystems, the effects of acid rain on natural ecosystems and the role that human-accelerated environmental change has had on precipitation chemistry.

(845) 677-5343
likensg@ecostudies.org


Stuart E. G. Findlay
Adjunct Professor
Aquatic Ecologist, Institute for Ecosystem Studies

Ph.D., 1981, University of Georgia

Characterization and microbial assimilation of dissolved organic carbon in aquatic ecosystems, importance of hyporheic metabolism in stream ecosystems and approaches to generalizing studies of function in vegetated aquatic habitats.

(845) 677-7600 Ext. 138
findlays@ecostudeis.org


Gary M. Lovett
Adjunct Professor
Ecosystem Ecologist, Institute for Ecosystem Studies

Ph.D., 1981, Dartmouth College

Focused on how perturbations such as air pollution, introduced pests and pathogens, and insect defoliators affect forest nutrient cycling.

(845) 677-7600 Ext. 132
lovettg@ecostudies.org


David Strayer
Adjunct Professor
Aquatic Ecologist, Institute for Ecosystem Studies

Ph.D., Cornell University, 1984

Distribution and role of invertebrates; zebra mussel invasion

(845) 677-7600 Ext. 148
strayerd@ecostudies.org