Full Time Faculty

  • Elise Andaya

    PhD, NYU, 2007
    Assistant Professor
    Interests: Medical anthropology
    Areas: Cuba
    E-mail: eandaya@albany.edu

  • Lee S. Bickmore

    PhD, UCLA, 1989
    Interests: Linguistics, phonology, tone, stress, historical linguistics
    Areas: Africa, Polynesia
    E-mail: lbickmore@albany.edu

  • Michele Bleuze

    PhD, Western Ontario, 2010
    Interests: Locomotor mechanics and behavioral ecology in Plio-Pleistocene hominins
    E-mail: mbleuze@albany.edu 

  • Louise M. Burkhart

    PhD, Yale, 1986
    Department Chair
    Interests: Ethnohistory/Historical ethnography; colonialism; folklore and folk narrative; Nahuatl language.
    Areas: Mesoamerica
    E-mail: lburkhart@albany.edu 

  • Jennifer Burrell

    PhD, New School for Social Research, 2005
    Associate Professor
    Interests: Political economy, structural and political violence, human rights.
    Areas: Mesoamerican and Latin America
    E-mail: jburrell@albany.edu

  • Lauren E. Clemens

    PhD, Harvard University, 2014
    Assistant Professor
    Interests: Linguistic theory, syntax, prosody, syntax-prosody interface
    Areas: Polynesia and Mesoamerica
    Email: lclemens@albany.edu

  • James Collins

    PhD, UC-Berkeley, 1983
    Interests: Linguistics, social theory, Athabaskan studies, education studies
    Areas: North America
    E-mail: jcollins@albany.edu 

  • Mercedes Fabian

    PhD, University at Buffalo, 2015
    Visiting Assistant Professor
    Interests: Forensic Anthropology, Human Anatomy 
    Email: mfabian@albany.edu

  • Timothy B. Gage

    PhD, Pennsylvania State University, 1982
    Interests: Human biology, demography, population genetics, quantitative methods
    Areas: Oceania
    E-mail: tgage@albany.edu

  • Adam D. Gordon

    PhD, University of Texas at Austin, 2004
    Associate Professor
    Interests: Paleoanthropology, primate evolutionary morphology, primate ecology
    Areas: Madagascar, Africa, Asia, Neotropics
    E-mail: agordon@albany.edu 

  • Kirsten E. Jenkins

    PhD Candidate, University of Minnesota
    Visiting Assistant Professor
    Interests: Paleoanthropology, behavioral ecology, hunting, predation, vertebrate taphonomy, paleoenvironments
    Areas: Eastern Africa
    Email: kjenkins@albany.edu  

  • Julia Jennings

    PhD, Pennsylvania State University, 2010
    Assistant Professor
    Interests: Human biology, demography, household ecology, historical population change
    Areas: Europe
    E-mail: jjennings2@albany.edu

  • John S. Justeson

    PhD, Stanford, 1978; MS in Computer Science, Stanford, 1988
    Interests: Linguistics, historical linguistics, language and prehistory, Mesoamerican languages and hieroglyphic writing, Indus Valley writing
    Areas: Mesoamerica
    E-mail: jjusteson@albany.edu 

  • Walter E. Little

    PhD, University of Illinois, 2001
    Associate Professor
    Interests: Cultural and Ethnic Identity, Marketplace and Household Economics, Tourism, Urban Anthropology
    Areas: Mesoamerica
    E-mail: wlittle@albany.edu 

  • Marilyn A. Masson

    PhD, University of Texas, 1993
    Associate Professor
    Interests: Archaeology, political organization, human ecology, ancient religion, zooarchaeology, lithic analysis
    Areas: Mesoamerica, North America
    E-mail: mmasson@albany.edu  

  • Verónica Pérez Rodríguez

    PhD, University of Georgia, 2003
    Assistant Professor
    Interests: Ecological and Environmental Anthropology; Complex societies and urbanism; Landscape and regional studies
    Areas: Mesoamerica
    Email: vperezrodriguez@albany.edu

  • Sean M. Rafferty

    PhD, Binghamton University, 2001
    Associate Professor
    Interests: Archaeology, Archaeometry, Ritual Practices
    Areas: Eastern North America
    Email: srafferty@albany.edu  

  • Robert M. Rosenswig

    PhD, Yale University, 2005
    Associate Professor
    Interests: Archaeology, Origins of Social Complexity, Emergence of Agriculture
    Areas: Mesoamerica
    Email: rrosenswig@albany.edu

  • Lawrence M. Schell

    PhD, University of Pennsylvania, 1980
    Director, Center for the Elimination of Minority Health Disparities
    Interests: Biological anthropology, medical anthropology, human growth and development, cities and health
    Areas: urban North America
    E-mail: lmschell@albany.edu  

Emeritus Faculty

  • Hetty Jo Brumbach

    PhD, SUNY-Albany, 1978
    Associate Curator Emerita
    Interests: Archaeology, ecology, ethnoarchaeology, museum studies, and gender
    Areas: North America
    E-mail: hbrumbach@albany.edu  

  • Robert M. Carmack

    PhD, UCLA, 1956
    Professor Emeritus
    Interests: Social Anthropology, Ethnohistory, Mesoamerican Studies, Social Theory
    Areas: Central America
    E-mail: rcarmack@albany.edu 

  • Robert W. Jarvenpa

    PhD, Minnesota, 1975
    Professor Emeritus
    Interests: Socio-cultural anthropology, ecology, interethnic relations
    Areas: North America, Circumpolar
    E-mail: rjarvenpa@albany.edu 

  • Gail H. Landsman

    PhD, Catholic University, 1982
    Associate Professor Emerita
    Interests: Cultural anthropology, gender, reproduction, feminist theory, disability studies, Iroquois
    Areas: North America
    E-mail:  glandsman@albany.edu

  • Ernest Scatton

    Ph.D. Harvard University
    Professor Emeritus
    Interests: Slavic (esp. South Slavic) and general lingustics; Bulgarian language and literature
    Areas: Eastern Europe
    Past editor, Slavic and East European Journal; Past president, AATSEEL
    Email:  escatton@albany.edu 

  • Stuart Swiny

    PhD, University of London, 1979
    Associate Professor Emeritus
    Director, Institute for Cypriot Studies
    Interests: Archaeology of Bronze Age Cyprus
    Areas: Cyprus
    E-mail: sswiny@albany.edu