Current Anthropology Graduate Students

Jump to:
Archaeology

Biological Anthropology
Cultural Anthropology
Linguistics

ARCHAEOLOGY

Nia Alecksynas
Dr. Sean Rafferty
nalecksynas@albany.edu  

Caroline Antonelli
Dr. Marilyn Masson
Mesoamerica, agricultural intensification, human & environment interactions, geoarchaeology, and geographical information systems (GIS) applications 
cantonelli@albany.edu

Alex Auclair
Dr. Marilyn Masson
Mesoamerican archaeology, monumental architecture, cosmology
aauclair@albany.edu  

Jeffrey Bryant
Dr. Sean Rafferty
jmbryant@albany.edu

Jeanette Carioto
Dr. Sean Rafferty
Historic northeast archaeology
jcarioto@albany.edu

Andrew Clark
Dr. Sean Rafferty
ajclark@albany.edu

Lindsay Deschenes
Dr. Sean Rafferty
ldeschenes@albany.edu

Jaime M. Donta
Dr. Sean Rafferty
Pre-Contact northeast North America, lithics, gender, public archaeology, field methods
jdonta@albany.edu

Jerry Ek
Dr. Marilyn Masson
Mesoamerican archaeology
Settlement patterns, political organization, Maya Lowlands, Southern Gulf Coast, Champoton
jek@albany.edu

Kendra Farstad
Dr. Marilyn Masson
Ancient and contemporary plant use in Mesoamerica
kfarstad@albany.edu

Josalyn M. Ferguson
Dr. Marilyn Masson
Maya Prehistory, the Terminal Classic, migration, cave use, architecture, ceramics
jferguson@albany.edu

Collin Gillenwater
Dr. Marilyn Masson
Mesoamerican Archaeology, PostClassic
cgillenwater@albany.edu

Hannah Goverman
Dr. Sean Rafferty
hgoverman@albany.edu

Sarah Heins
Dr. Marilyn Masson
Osteology, animal domestication and husbandry, Eastern Europe, isotopes
sheins@albany.edu

Robert Hutchinson
Dr. Marilyn Masson
rhutchinson@albany.edu

Vivian S. James
Dr. Marilyn Masson
Northeast, Woodland and Colonial Periods, zooarchaeology, faunal domestication, GIS
vjames@albany.edu

Matthew Kirk
Dr. Marilyn Masson
mkirk@albany.edu  

Betsy Kohut
Dr. Marilyn Masson
bkohut@albany.edu

Jared Latimer
Dr. Marilyn Masson
Mesoamerican and Lower Central American archaeology, political organization and economy, developing complexity and prestate social organization
jlatimer@albany.edu

Jordon Loucks
Dr. Sean Rafferty
jloucks@albany.edu  

Rachel Manning
Dr. Sean Rafferty
rmanning2@albany.edu
 

Morgan Marx
Dr. Robert Rosenswig
mmarx@albany.edu  

Jamie Meinsen
Dr. Sean Rafferty
Northeast archaeology
jmeinsen@albany.edu  

Rebecca Mendelsohn
Dr. Robert Rosenswig
Mesoamerica, household archaeology, development of sociopolitical complexity, starch grain analysis
rmendelsohn@albany.edu  

Arianna Moore
Dr. Sean Rafferty
Northeast archaeology
almoore@albany.edu  

Steve Moragne
Dr. Sean Rafferty
Prehistoric and Historic Northeast, Microartifacts, Soil Chemistry, Spatial Analysis, and Public Outreach and Education
smoragne@albany.edu

Jaclyn Nadeau
Dr. Sean Rafferty
Northeast archaeology, lithic debitage analysis
jnadeau@albany.edu

Yahaira Nuñez Cortes
Dr. Robert Rosenswig
Lower Central American archaeology, ceramics, trade, interaction spheres
ynunez-cortes@albany.edu

Jason S. R. Paling
Dr. Marilyn Masson
Pre-classic Mayan lithic production and exchange
jpaling@albany.edu

Kristy Primeau
Dr. Sean Rafferty
Northeast archaeology, GIS
kprimeau@albany.edu

Jacquelyn Rajchel
Dr. Robert Rosenswig
jrajchel@albany.edu

Francis “Jess” Robinson
Dr. Hetty Jo Brumbach
Mortuary ceremonialism, interregional interaction
jrobinson@albany.edu

Emily Smith
Dr. Sean Rafferty
Mesoamerican archaeology
egsmith@albany.edu

Emi Tomaszewski
Dr. Verónica Pérez Rodríguez
Iconography, language, social structure
etomaszewski@albany.edu

Jessica Vavrasek
Dr. Sean Rafferty
Northeastern Archaeology, St. Lawrence Iroquois, Zooarchaeology
jvavrasek@albany.edu  

Jessica Watson
Dr. Sean Rafferty
Northeast & historic archaeology, zooarchaeology
jewatson@albany.edu

BIOLOGICAL ANTHROPOLOGY

Kristopher Burnitz
Dr. Lawrence Schell
Human Biology
kburnitz@albany.edu

Carmen Fagnani
Dr. Lawrence Schell
Biomedical anthropology
cfagnani@albany.edu

Nathaniel Graham
Dr. Adam Gordon
Biogeography, primate biodiversity
nhgraham@albany.edu

Elizabeth Holdsworth
Dr. Lawrence Schell
Biocultural anthropology, psychosocial stress, human growth and development, health disparities
eholdsworth@albany.edu

Justin Ledogar
Dr. David Strait
Functional morphology, primate ecology, paleoanthropology
jledogar@gmail.com

Kyrie Nelder
Dr. Lawrence Schell
Psychosocial stressors, human growth and development, health disparities
knelder@albany.edu

Erin O’Neill
Dr. Timothy Gage
eoneill@albany.edu  

Hanna Marie Pageau
Dr. Adam Gordon
Dentition, paleopathology, homo-lineage evolution, mortuary studies
hpageau@albany.edu

Jasmine Patraw
Dr. Lawrence Schell
Biocultural/Medical anthropology, HIV/AIDS, Minority Health Disparities, and Gender Roles
jjohnson3@albany.edu

Keren Powell
Dr. Adam Gordon
kpowell2@albany.edu

Julia Ravenscroft
Dr. Lawrence Schell
Biocultural and nutritional anthropology, environmental contamination, indigenous peoples and environmental justice, community-based participatory research, human growth and development, developmental origins of disease
jravenscroft@albany.edu

Amanda Smith
Dr. David Strait
alsmith@albany.edu

Jessica Somers 
Dr. Lawrence Schell
Biocultural/Medical anthropology, Applied anthropology, ethics, medical knowledge production and authority, clinical trials.
jsomers@albany.edu

Amanda Spriggs
Dr. Adam Gordon
Sexual selection in lemurs
aspriggs@albany.edu

Kelli Tamvada
Dr. David Strait
Mobility, femoral biomechanics, finite element analysis, functional anatomy, human evolution
ktamvada@albany.edu

Logan Tierney
Dr. Lawrence Schell
Biocultural anthropology
ltierney@albany.edu

Kiersten Westbrook
Dr. Timothy Gage
HIV and nutrition, biological impacts of public policy, human health impacts of climate change, occupational health
kwestbrook@albany.edu

CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY

Sarah Appelhans
Dr. Marilyn Masson
sappelhans@albany.edu

Gabriela Aquino Dehesa
Dr. Walter Little
Kinship, Marriage, and Oaxacan Migration
gaquinodehesa@albany.edu

Alejandro Arango Londoño
Dr. Elise Andaya
Ethnology
aarangolondono@albany.edu

Kimberly Berg
Dr. Walter Little
Heritage Tourism, Identity Politics, Nationalism, Welsh Diaspora, Linguistic Revitalization, Museum Studies, Ethnography
kberg@albany.edu

Justin Childs
Dr. Elise Andaya
jchilds@albany.edu

Jennifer Crowley
Dr. Walter Little
Northern Ireland, Political Economy, Cultural Performance, Symbolic Representation
jcrowley@albany.edu

Maria Diaz Montejo
Dr. Walter Little
Guatemala, Maya Ethnicity, Folklore, Identity Politics, Cultural Performance, Economics and Transnationalism
mdiazmontejo@albany.edu

John Edvalson 
Dr. Walter Little
Indigenization, Community Politics, Schools and Social Reproduction; Guatemala
jedvalson@albany.edu

Mounia El Kotni
Dr. Jennifer Burrell
Public health policies, NGOs, Indigenous Rights, Reproductive health, Chiapas
IMS Biography
melkotni@albany.edu

Julie Killian
Dr. Sean Rafferty
jkillian@albany.edu

Ramon Lee
Dr. Sean Rafferty
rlee3@albany.edu

Ben Leeming
Dr. Louise Burkhart
Early colonial Mexico, Nahuatl language, indigenization of Christianity, indigenous American literature and poetics
bleeming@albany.edu

Aaron Leo
Dr. James Collins
Educational Anthropology
aleo@albany.edu  

Ryan Levy
Dr. Jennifer Burrell
Medical Anthropology, sexuality, HIV/AIDS, Urban Anthropology
rlevy@albany.edu

Cathlo Morton
Dr. Marilyn Masson
cmorton@albany.edu

Christa Mylin
Dr. Louise Burkhart
Ethnology
cmylin@albany.edu

Mwaka Nachilongo
Dr. Jennifer Burrell
mnachilongo@albany.edu

Jimmy Powell
Dr. Jennifer Burrell
jcpowell@albany.edu

Catlin Renaud
Dr. Marilyn Masson
crenaud@albany.edu

Crystal Sheedy
Dr. Walter Little
Mayas, Yucatan, Yucatec Maya, Gender
csheedy@albany.edu  

James Shuford
Dr. Jennifer Burrell
Migration, Farm work, Health Care Access
jshuford@albany.edu

Indrakshi Tandon
Dr. Elise Andaya
Natural Resource Development, Feminist Anthropology, NGOs, Water Management
itandon@albany.edu

Brynna Tussey
Dr. Walter Little
Aesthetic Systems, Maya, Museums
btussey@albany.edu

Enrique Valdivia
Dr. Louise Burkhart
Mesoamerican Studies
evaldivia@albany.edu

Casandra Walker
Dr. Elise Andaya
Biocultural Anthropology
cmwalker@albany.edu

LINGUISTICS

Gregory Boland
Dr. John Justeson
gboland@albany.edu

Rebecca Dinkel
Dr. John Justeson
Mesoamerican writing systems
bdinkel@albany.edu

Sharone Horowit-Hendler
Dr. James Collins
Gender and Sexuality
shorowit-hendler@albany.edu

Saeid Kamrani
Dr. Aaron Broadwell
skamrani@albany.edu

Isabelle Poitras
Dr. John Justeson
Language documentation, Tseltal, Classic Mayan Script, Linguistic relativity
ipoitras@albany.edu

Kristian Tamtomo
Dr. James Collins
ktamtomo@albany.edu