Current Anthropology Graduate Students

Jump to:
Archaeology

Biological Anthropology
Cultural Anthropology
Linguistics

ARCHAEOLOGY

Nia Alecksynas
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: nalecksynas@albany.edu

Caroline Antonelli
Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: cantonelli@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
Research Interests: agricultural intensification, human & environment interactions, geoarchaeology, geographical information systems (GIS) applications 

Jeff Bryant
Advisor: Dr. Veronica Perez Rodriguez
Email: jeffbryantarch@gmail.com
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica

Jeanette Carioto
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: jcarioto@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast North America
Research Interests: historic archaeology

Andrew Clark
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: ajclark@albany.edu

Lindsay Deschenes
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: ldeschenes@albany.edu

Jaime M. Donta
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: jdonta@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Pre-Contact Northeast North America
Research Interests: lithics, gender, public archaeology, field methods

Jerry Ek
Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: jek@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
Research Interests: settlement patterns, political organization, Maya Lowlands, Southern Gulf Coast, Champoton

Josalyn M. Ferguson
Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: jferguson@albany.edu
Regional Focus:Mesoamerica
Research Interests: Maya Prehistory, the Terminal Classic, migration, cave use, architecture, ceramics

Gaétan Gauvin
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: ggauvin@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast North America

Collin Gillenwater
Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: cgillenwater@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
Research Interests: PostClassic

Hannah Goverman
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: hgoverman@albany.edu

Sarah Heins Ledogar
Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email:sheins@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Eastern Europe, Northeast North America
Research Interests: human & animal interactions; animal husbandry, cave use, human osteology & zooarchaeology, stable isotope analysis 

Robert Hutchinson
Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: rhutchinson@albany.edu

Vivian S. James
Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: vjames@albany.edu
Regional Focus:Northeast North America
Research Interests: Woodland and Colonial Periods, zooarchaeology, faunal domestication, GIS

Matthew Kirk
Advisor:: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: mkirk@albany.edu  

Kyle Lockhart
Advisor: Dr. Robert Rosenswig
Email: klockhart@albany.edu

Jordon Loucks
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: jloucks@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Historic Northeast North America

Rachel Manning
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: rmanning2@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Historic Northeast North America
Research Interests: archaeology of institutional life       

Morgan Marx
Advisor: Dr. Robert Rosenswig
Email: mmarx@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica

Jamie Meinsen
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: jmeinsen@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast North America

Rebecca Mendelsohn
Advisor: Dr. Robert Rosenswig
Email: rmendelsohn@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
Research Interests: household archaeology, development of sociopolitical complexity, starch grain analysis

Arianna Moore
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: almoore@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast North America

Steve Moragne
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: smoragne@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast North America
Research Interests: microartifacts, soil chemistry, spatial analysis, public outreach and education

Jaclyn Nadeau
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: jnadeau@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast North America
Research Interests: lithic debitage analysis

Yahaira Nuñez Cortes
Email: ynunez-cortes@albany.edu
Advisor: Dr. Robert Rosenswig
Regional Focus: Lower Central America
Research Interests: ceramics, trade, interaction spheres

Jason S. R. Paling
Email: jpaling@albany.edu
Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
Research Interests: Pre-classic Mayan lithic production and exchange

Nicole Popielarz
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: npopielarz@albany.edu

Kristy Primeau
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: kprimeau@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast North America
Research Interests: GIS

Thomas Quirk
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: tquirk@albany.edu

Jacquelyn Rajchel
Advisor: Dr. Robert Rosenswig
Email: jrajchel@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica

Francis “Jess” Robinson
Advisor: Dr. Hetty Jo Brumbach
Email: jrobinson@albany.edu
Regional Focus:Northeast North America
Research Interests: mortuary ceremonialism, interregional interaction

Alyse Strohmeyer
Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: astrohmeyer@albany.edu

Jessica Vavrasek
Advisor:Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: jvavrasek@albany.edu
Regional Focus:Northeast North America
Research Interests: St. Lawrence Iroquois, zooarchaeology

Jessica Watson
Advisor:Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: jewatson@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast North America
Research Interests: environmental & ecological archaeology, zooarchaeology

 

BIOLOGICAL ANTHROPOLOGY

Kristopher Burnitz
Advisor: Dr. Lawrence Schell
Email: kburnitz@albany.edu
Research Interests: human biology

Jessica L. Campbell
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: jcampbell4@albany.edu
Research Interests: forensic & biological anthropology, archaeology, human osteology & anatomy, human rights & repatriation, pathological conditions affecting biological profile, GIS applications in human remains recoveries

Nathaniel Graham
Advisor: Dr. Lawrence Schell
Email: nhgraham@albany.edu
Research Interests: health disparities and environmental toxicants

Elizabeth Holdsworth
Advisor: Dr. Lawrence Schell
Email: eholdsworth@albany.edu
Research Interests: biocultural anthropology, psychosocial stress, human growth and development, health disparities

Kevin Kearbey
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: kkearbey@albany.edu

Florence Lee
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: flee2@albany.edu

Kyrie Nelder
Advisor: Dr. Lawrence Schell
Email:knelder@albany.edu
Research Interests: psychosocial stressors, human growth and development, health disparities

Erin O’Neill Regan
Advisor: Dr. Timothy Gage
Email: eoneill@albany.edu

Hanna Marie Pageau
Advisor: Dr. Adam Gordon
Email: hpageau@albany.edu
Research Interests: primate dental microwear, efficacy of field participation

Keren Powell
Advisor: Dr. Adam Gordon
Email: kpowell2@albany.edu

Julia Ravenscroft
Advisor: Dr. Lawrence Schell
Email: jravenscroft@albany.edu
Research Interests: biocultural and nutritional anthropology, environmental contamination, indigenous peoples and environmental justice, community-based participatory research, human growth and development, developmental origins of disease

Jerred Schafer
Advisor: Dr. Adam Gordon
Email: jkschafer@albany.edu

Amanda Spriggs
Advisor: Dr. Adam Gordon
Email:aspriggs@albany.edu
Research Interests: sexual selection in lemurs

Logan Tierney
Advisor: Dr. Lawrence Schell
Email: ltierney@albany.edu
Research Interests: biocultural anthropology

Erica Tyler
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: etyler@albany.edu

Lauren Walters
Advisor: Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: lwalters@albany.edu

Kiersten Westbrook
Advisor: Dr. Timothy Gage
Email: kwestbrook@albany.edu
Research Interests: HIV & nutrition, biological impacts of public policy, human health impacts of climate change, occupational health

 

CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY

Sarah Appelhans
Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya
Email: sappelhans@albany.edu
Research Interests: anthropology of science, gender, & work

Gabriela Aquino Dehesa
Advisor: Dr. Walter Little
Email: gaquinodehesa@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
Research Interests: kinship, marriage, Oaxacan migration

Alejandro Arango-Londoño
Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya
Email: aarangolondono@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Latin America
Research Interests: medical anthropology, gender, anthropology of the body

Juan Argueta
Advisor: Dr. Walter Little
Email: jargueta@albany.edu

Kimberly Berg
Advisor: Dr. Walter Little
Email: kberg@albany.edu
Regional Focus: South America
Research Interests: heritage tourism, identity politics, nationalism, Welsh diaspora, linguistic revitalization, museum studies, ethnography

Justin Childs
Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya
Email: jchilds@albany.edu

Jennifer Crowley
Advisor: Dr. Walter Little
Email: jcrowley@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northern Ireland
Research Interests: political economy, cultural performance, symbolic representation

Maria Diaz Montejo
Advisor: Dr. Walter Little
Email: mdiazmontejo@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Guatemala
Research Interests: Maya ethnicity, folklore, identity politics, cultural performance, economics and transnationalism

Mounia El Kotni
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Burrell
Email: melkotni@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Chiapas, Mexico
Research Interests: public health policies, NGOs, indigenous rights, reproductive health
IMS Biography

Aisha Kearney
Advisor:Dr. Sean Rafferty
Email: akearney2@albany.edu

Ramon Lee
Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya
Email: rlee3@albany.edu
Regional Focus: North America
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, psychological anthropology, critical race theory, gender, ethnohistory

Ben Leeming
Advisor: Dr. Louise Burkhart
Email: bleeming@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Early Colonial Mexico
Research Interests: Nahuatl language, indigenization of Christianity, indigenous American literature and poetics

Aphizetl Lemus Medina
Advisor: Dr. Louise Burkhart
Email: alemusmedina@albany.edu

Aaron Leo
Advisor: Dr. James Collins
Email: aleo@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Northeast US
Research Interests: anthropology of education

Ryan Levy
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Burrell
Email: rlevy@albany.edu
Research Interests: medical anthropology, sexuality, HIV/AIDS, urban anthropology

Cathlo Morton
Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: cmorton@albany.edu

Christa Mylin
Advisor: Dr. Louise Burkhart
Email: cmylin@albany.edu
Research Interests: ethnology

Jimmy Powell
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Burrell
Email: jcpowell@albany.edu

Catlin Renaud
Advisor: Dr. Marilyn Masson
Email: crenaud@albany.edu

Catherine Sharkey
Advisor: Dr. Walter Little
Email: csharkey@albany.edu

Crystal Sheedy
Advisor: Dr. Walter Little
Email: csheedy@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Yucatan
Research Interests: Mayas, Yucatec Maya, gender

Jessica Somers 
Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya
Email: jsomers@albany.edu
Research Interests: biocultural/medical anthropology, applied anthropology, medical knowledge, Lyme disease 

James Shuford
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Burrell
Email: jshuford@albany.edu
Regional Focus: North America
Research Interests: migration, farm work, health care access

Indrakshi Tandon
Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya
Email: itandon@albany.edu
Regional Focus: India
Research Interests: natural resource development, feminist anthropology, NGOs, water management        

Joseph A. Torres-González
Advisor: Dr. Walter Little
Email: jtorres-gonzalez@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mexico, Caribbean, Latin America
Research Interests: economic anthropology, anthropology & history; coffee industry, globalization & development

Brynna Tussey
Advisor: Dr. Walter Little
Email: btussey@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
Research Interests: aesthetic systems, Maya, museums

Enrique Valdivia
Advisor: Dr. Louise Burkhart
Email: evaldivia@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica

Casandra Walker
Advisor: Dr. Elise Andaya
Email: cmwalker@albany.edu
Research Interests: biocultural anthropology

 

LINGUISTICS

Gregory Boland
Advisor: Dr. John Justeson
Email: gboland@albany.edu

Rebecca Dinkel
Advisor: Dr. John Justeson
Email:rebeccadinkel@gmail.com
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
Research Interests: Mesoamerican languages, writing systems, & art

Sharone Horowit-Hendler
Advisor: Dr. James Collins
Email: shorowit-hendler@albany.edu
Research Interests: gender & sexuality

Saeid Kamrani
Advisor: Dr. Aaron Broadwell
Email: skamrani@albany.edu

Isabelle Poitras
Advisor: Dr. John Justeson
Email: ipoitras@albany.edu
Regional Focus: Mesoamerica
Research Interests: language documentation, Tseltal, Classic Mayan Script, linguistic relativity

Kristian Tamtomo
Advisor: Dr. James Collins
Email: ktamtomo@albany.edu