Graduate Academic Council
2004 – 2005

Minutes of the Council meeting of September 27, 2004

Approved (as amended) by the Council on November 5, 2004

In attendance:       B. Joseph, D. Byrd, F. Bolton (staff), H. Meyer, J. Mumpower, J. Bartow (staff), L.-A. McNutt (Chair), M. Jerison,
                           M. Rodriguez, O. Ongiti, S. Friedman & S. Maloney

Unable to attend:  M. Casserly, R. Henderson & S. Shahedipour

Guest:                 G. Bunnell, Dept. of Geography & Planning

1.                    Introductions – Members of the Council introduced themselves to the group.

2.                    Chair’s Report – L.-A. McNutt

Professor McNutt highlighted the Council’s role of overseeing graduate education at the University and acting to advise the Senate on related matters.  She reviewed the three standing committees of the Council and the significant role they serve in the conduct of Council business.  She reviewed a summary of Council business matters that have either carried over from the 2003-04 year or arrive during the Summer of 2004 for consideration.  Finally she noted the Summer and Fall 2004 work of the Senate’s Ad-Hoc University Wide Governance Committee, with attention to the fact that this Committee has been asked to include matters of graduate curriculum and academic standing within its attention.

3.                    Minutes from the meeting of 4/22/04 were (7-0-1) approved as presented.

4.                    MRP Curriculum Change

Professor Gene Bunnell from the Department of Geography & Planning introduced the proposal to modify the MRP curriculum.  The proposal was developed following external input and internal reassessment.  The faculty seek to “fuse” to existing program specialization areas (1. Environmental Planning and 2. Land-Use Planning and Urban Design) to become one – Environmental and Land-Use Planning,  Urban design is de-emphasized.  The revamped curriculum, with 4 rather than 5 specialization areas is more appropriate.  The new specialization is a more truthful representation of focus and course delivery.  The proposal involves no new courses and has no particular effect on existing offerings.

The Council voted to approve the proposal unanimously (8-0-0).

5.                    Dean’s Report – J. Mumpower

6.                    Chair McNutt led a discussion about future Fall 2004 meetings of the Council, noting that member’s responses to date identified Monday mornings as a commonly available time.  A few members of the Council noted difficulties with Monday morning meetings and suggestions for Wednesday or Friday morning meetings emerged as alternatives.  Regretfully, other members have conflicts on those days.  Professor McNutt indicated she would alternate the scheduling of future Fall 2004 meetings accordingly, with recognition that 100% attendance on any day by members is unlikely.

7.                    Standing Committees

                                Proposed memberships on GAC standing committees were discussed and resolved.  A draft slate of memberships was updated to include new members and chairpersons.  Prof. Shahedipour has agreed to chair the CAAS, Prof. Rodriguez agreed to chair the CC&I and Prof. Byrd agreed to chair the CEP&P.  The updated slate of committee memberships appended to the end of these minutes was unanimously approved by vote of the Council members (8-0-0)

8.                    Ombudsperson

                Prof. Meyer verbally outlined a proposed framework for an Ombudspersons Office.  In would be formed by two senior faculty members, one male and one female.  The individuals would have some sort of answering machine available to collect messages and allow for follow-up.  A committee of school and college representatives would be solicited to receive an annual report from the 2 Ombudspersons.  The Ombudspersons Office would address student concerns.

                Questions of “charge” surfaced and the need to describe and define a charge was identified.  It is envisioned that the Ombud’s role will amount to an alternative to an administrative track for the potential of problem investigation and resolution of academic disputes.

                Professors Meyer and McNutt indicated they would develop a more detailed proposal in written form for future presentation to the Council. 


Graduate Academic Council


Date prepared:      October 6, 2004

Approved Committee Memberships

1.    Committee on Educational Policy & Procedures (CEP&P)

Mary Casserly, University Libraries, (GAC member)

Michael Jerison, Economics, (GAC member)

Don Byrd, English, (GAC member), Chair

Orpha Ongiti, Grad Student GAC Member

Anita Pomerantz, Communication, (former GAC member and Committee Chair 03-04)

Helga Straif-Taylor, Anthropology, (former Committee member)

2.       Committee on Admissions & Academic Standing (CA&AS)

Susan Maloney, School of Business, (GAC member)

Shadi Shahedipour, Nanosciences, (GAC member and Committee Chair 03-04), Chair

Anne Boehm, Biological Sciences, (former Committee member)

Dana Peterson, Criminal Justice, (former Committee member)

Beckner Joseph, Grad Student GAC Member and Senator

Katherine Trent, Sociology, (former Committee member)

Regina Henderson, Grad Student GAC Member

Christine Wagner, Psychology, (former Committee member)

Linda Scoville, Undergraduate Studies

Richard Irving, University Libraries (former GAC member)

3.    Committee on Curriculum & Instruction (CC&I)

Monica Rodriguez, Psychology, (GAC member), Chair

Sally Freidman, Political Science, (GAC member)

Heinz-Dieter Meyer, Educational Administration & Policy Studies (GAC member & Comm. Chair 03-04)

Greg Pogarsky, Criminal Justice (former Committee member)

Floyd Henderson, Geography & Planning, (former Committee member) (pending acceptance)

Dona Parker, Arts & Sciences (former Committee member)

Brian Keough, University Libraries,

Lorre Smith, University Libraries (former GAC member)